Biscuits smells like coconut, orange and cocoa

Although the recipe has yet to be given an official name, lots of sympathies already are earned. I came up with it less than a month ago, all thanks to the orange syrup that was sitting on the pantry shelf for quite some time, a completely wrong choice of juice. Deep down I knew we will never drink it again and at the same time avoidance of throwing it mercilessly in garbage pushed me a bit to think "harder"

Measure 600 grams of multipurpose flour, 100 grams of sugar, add 5 tablespoons of cocoa, 150 grams of margarine, a cup (200 ml) of coconut, a cup of orange syrup and milk as needed + two whole eggs and a teaspoon of ginger.

When I first made them, I enjoyed the chewy texture of the biscuits; they reminded me of store-bought integral sweet ones.

And here's the sticky part: the entire kneading process is done by hand; crumb the loose margarine into the flour and sugar at room temperature, add eggs, kneadkneadknead...

Once all the dry ingredients had been combined with the syrup, I added the milk as needed to knead the dough compactly and to roll it out without problems and boring sticking. The consistency of the is neither too hard nor too soft, it certainly doesn't have any dough raiser in it like baking powder or baking soda.

Ingredients such as ginger, coconut, orange and cocoa are among the most used in the winter season, all of which together cannot help but get you somewhere close to the warm fireplace and snow-covered streets..

Divided in two pieces so the rolling out would be easier.

Last time, I rolled out the dough thicker, and since these are sandwich biscuits, they turned out to be real bites, this time they will be thinner and smaller, one bite cookie.

Additional flour for sprinkling will not be necessary, the dough is greasy and saturated enough that it will not stick to the surface (if its smooth).

Shape is based on the famous linzer biscuit, I have always liked those typical linzer shapes through which you could see the marmalade peaking out.
The only thing I was missing was a very small praying mantis, so the slits on my biscuits were slightly larger, okay a lot larger you can see all the marmalade in there!

Fortunately, I soon realized that it was too much cutting, so I stayed true to the size, but not the shape - rest of the dough ends up in the shape of a star.

A barely 5cm sweet bite that will potentially double in size, merging two two into one - when stars collide, sing the song!

I didn't have marmalade this time or last; I had saved the last jar of apricot jam, but I had additional orange syrup on hand.

All you have to do - not fire nothing up!

Boil 100 ml syrup but keep an eye on it, don't be me doing thousand other things at the same time and end up with one more thing to clean after.

Then add 3 teaspoons of flour to the boiling syrup (I didn't have starch, but if you have it, feel free to use it), set it back on medium heat and stir until it it thickens similar to the pudding.

Cool it down.

Although the dough itself does not contain too much sugar, keep in mind there is plenty of syrup! The biscuits will only be lightly dipped in the cooked "mush", perfect balanced sweetness.

First I took care of the wannabe linzer stars, after sticking the biscuits little more "filling" is added. The single stars are coated in a mixture of cinnamon and powdered sugar, measure the proportions depending on taste.

Some of them were lucky enough to find the other half, with syrup stick together until hungry human separate us!

While the cookies are sent to soak everything in, during that time we rearranged the work space and the part for scenography and photography for the hundredth time., more to come!

Counter I am baking on isn't a counter, but light is marvelous there, more updates on that topic >why we rearranged office once again< on some other occasion, now I need your focus elsewhere!

Warm cup of tea pairs perfectly with every layer of the biscuit taste.

Bon appetite!

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now