Heartfelt memories w/ Māori pinup, Heidi!

Hey, Voice! I’m up way too late but this was one of those night’s that a weird melancholy crept in. That almost never happens to me, but for some reason, this evening, it did. Fortunately, I know the sure fire way to combat that is productivity and knowing that I was able to get a lot done, and leave some kind of progress to the on going odyssey that is my life. I sat down, shook it off and cut through about six edits. That was what I needed. I’m barely awake, but I’m going to finish this post and go to bed.

I dug in to a shoot from this time last year. I was in Melbourne, VIC. I was on the most ambitious dark pinup photography tour of my career. I had about 16 shoots while I was in Australia, one of which was with a talented, beautiful Māori pinup named Heidi Heart. She’s a Kiwi, living in Australia, which was even more special for me as I’d just spent 8 days on both the Northern and Southern Islands of New Zealand. We shot together right but the coast. She looked stunning and had an amazing outfit for the waterfront.

The location was breath taking. The coastal waters at sunset. Perfect golden hour. She did traditional Māori chin markings, which was really cool; totally different and unique to our meeting together. In my twenty years of shooting, I’ve never captured a Māori pinup. The water was cold because it was winter in Melbourne, but she braved it in her latex pencil skirt. We were also able to capture some beautiful portraits with a backdrop of trees and foliage with the golden hour sun hitting her face.

This shoot with Heidi was one of the most memorable of my time in Australia. Looking back, it feels like it was all a blur. Between New Zealand and Australia, I did 23 shoots in 13 days. I was exhausted, but having the chance to revisit these photos and write a blog about that time is therapeutic for me in many ways. I have more to share with Heidi, most likely coming in the next few days. New VLOG coming either tomorrow or Friday as well. I’m getting ready to do something really cool tomorrow with my new Ronin SC gimbal.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center