community
"This is a Cross-Post on my response to the Writing music challenge! The song I chose is A 'B' Side by Manfred Mann !"

Writing music challenge: A 'B' Side - Manfred Mann

Fellow music loving Hivians! This is my response to the Writing Music Challenge , to which I got invited to by @verhp11 !

The rules go like this:

  1. Tell me about an album you love and tell me about the standout album track on it.

  2. Donโ€™t tell me about any singles on your album. I want to hear about that hidden gem that is tucked away and not played on the radio.

  3. Give me a story about the album, how you learned about it, and most importantly highlight that special album track

  4. Challenge THREE more people to do the same. Itโ€™s good to write, especially about music. Itโ€™s a passion.

  5. Make sure you add these rules to your post and feel free to use the format I use below.

  6. Post your Music Challenge article in the MUSIC Community
    If you want to write a post and have not been challenged, then do so.
    Prefix your post 'Writing Music Challenge' so it's easy to spot.


absidetreeoflife.JPG


The first thought that I was going for was Blue Oyster Cult - Stairway to the Stars, but then it came straight to my head and I remembered it!

Eventually what started as a response to a challenge, evolved into dear memories!

It was a remaining of the CD years. Although those years have already passed a long time ago and we were already very into the mp3 times, here I was tidying the basement on my village, stuff that I have been gathering for years and years and have ended up there after numerous moving outs and ins. Getting my tones of stuff together, and as I liked to believe my thoughts too and I was exploring albums that I have bought but never really listened to!

The whole album was a blast, but the A 'B' Sides was and is my favorite out of it!



I remember listening to it on repeat, again and again, non stop, singing, attempting to dance and imagining that some day I will do an atmospheric and theme choreography for it! Now that I remembered it, besides all that I am planning to add it on my list of cover songs for bass and singing!

I absolutely love big times the artwork on the video too. I wasn't able to find out if it was an original artwork used by Manfred Mann, I have just found this reference about it, on Ozora Festival Official Page. If anyone knows more about it I would be glad to learn more!

The album you can find the song into is The Very Best Of The Fontana Years. It belongs to the Mike d'Abo years of the band's history (1966โ€“1969).

According to Wikipedia on Manfred Mann :

Mann and Hugg were already writing advertising jingles at the time of the group's demise, but continued to work together in a group format with Manfred Mann Chapter Three, an experimental jazz rock band described by Mann as an over-reaction to the hit factory of the Manfred Mann group.

For a moment their musical worlds coincided: a TV cigar advertisement, a long track from Chapter Three's first album Travellin' Lady, and "A "B" Side", the flip of the old group's last single, all used the same riff.

I could not resist and research for the cigar advertisement and here it is for your eyes only! As cult as it can be! ๐Ÿ˜…

Next ones challenged:

@amberyooper
@musicgeek
@steevc

and of course anyone else who would like to take the challenge! ๐Ÿ˜บ

Here's to great music memories! ๐Ÿ˜ƒ

Christina

Writing music challenge: A 'B' Side - Manfred Mann

This is a cross post of @christina-madart/writing-music-challenge-a-b-side-manfred-mann by @christina-madart.

This is a Cross-Post on my response to the Writing music challenge! The song I chose is A 'B' Side by Manfred Mann !

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now