The Decision Dilemma

Hello, beautiful people! Welcome to my blog. It's a pleasure to have you in this space. Once again, welcome 🤗

It's inevitable for humans to come face to face with challenges that, at a point, make them confused or don't know what to do or how to go about the whole situation.

Life is filled with a lot of uncertainties, and most of the time, we do not have all the information we need to make an informed decision. There are instances where we are at a crossroad and we are so confused as to which way to turn or what step to take.

source

I have had my own fair share of confused moments where I was to make a decision, and I did not know what to do.

I remember that very incident that happened five years ago, like it was yesterday. I was in my former office, and this customer walked in, requesting to see my head of unit. Coincidentally, my head of unit was out of the office after she got an emergency call from home. I know calling her at that point in time was not even an option. I was left with no choice but to momentarily assume the position and handle the situation.

Uncertain of what the matter was, I had to just hear the customer out, make a few calls to other supervisors I had a cordial working relationship with for guidance, and in the worst instance, reach out to the relevant department in our head office.

After hearing the customer narrate the situation, I knew I had to make a call to the legal department in the head office for advice because I have never heard of a case where a customer submitted a court order for the organization to take a certain action, and according to the customer, the court order was not respected.

When I explained everything to the legal representative that picked the call, he told me that it was an issue of the organization being unable to meet up with the demands of the court order, as the demands of the court were beyond what the organization could meet.

Apparently, the court was asking the organization to produce a former employee who was no longer in the service of the organization, as the former employee has long relocated out of his registered address with the organization as contained in his file.

source

After thanking the legal representative for his timely and helpful assistance, I dropped the call and explained to the customer the true situation of things. Having understood the reason for the seaming noncompliance with the court order, the customer thanked me and took his leave.

I was happy and proud of myself, the reason being that I was able to stand in for my head of unit, who was unavoidably absent, and most importantly, I was able to handle the situation excellently, as though it were being handled by my head of unit.

Many people like to go through stuff alone, even when it is obvious they do not have it all figured out. It is safe to reach out to a more experienced colleague, friend, supervisor, or even a subordinate who is more knowledgeable than you are, as that matter.

Should you ever find yourself in a situation where you do not know what to do, reach out and ask for help.

THANK YOU FOR READING TO THE END 🤗

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now