A Few Carves

I'm just finishing up a few CNC carves and signs for various people. All that's left is a hanger on the backs and they're ready to go. I've got a few more at various stages as well that I'll post as they get closer to completion.

This first sign is epoxy filled V-carve on a live slab of olive. It's my first try filling with epoxy, and it turned out quite nice. I'll be doing more of these as they look pretty sharp and are easily customizable.

20221106_173209-01.jpeg

The VRI plaque is for my father-in-law who used to be in the infantry and asked me to make it for him. The crest is oak done with a 1/16" tappered ball nose. I've been racking my brain trying to remember what kind of wood the back is, but I'm at a loss. I used a 1/8" ball nose to do the molding toolpath and cut the rest of the circle out with a 1/4" endmill bit.

20221106_173126-01.jpeg

This last one doesn't have a home yet, but I know a lot of engineers so it won't be hard to find someone who wants it. The crest is maple done with a 1/16" tapered ball nose, and the back is oak with the same bit. This one took some time with almost 20 hours of carving, but it's pretty sharp looking.

20221106_173148-01.jpeg

Until next time...

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now