Apocalyptic Homesteading (Day 1234)

Hello Everyone!

Plenty of rest, Electric service research, Washing totes & Balancing the packing workload!

Alright, I am running fifteen minutes behind schedule with my writing routine this evening. I am also still feeling a bit groggy from a late day nap... so bear with me while I get some espresso in me and get my mind in gear.

After all of yesterday's activities, I fell asleep much earlier than usual... and wound up waking up long before sunrise. I did not quite have it in me to 'get up and about' though (because my body was aching) and I wound up drifting back off to sleep for a few more hours before waking a final time and beginning my day.

As usual I did my Hive engagement routine as soon as I got up... and after that I moved on to doing more research into getting electricity service at the new land. Long story short there, my findings were not all that encouraging... because in the permitting process they require a septic permit and at least the footers for a dwelling/building to be in place.

Basically, they do not allow any 'free standing service' (which is just a pole and meter/breaker box) like I had thought that they would do... and now I have to rethink how I am going to get electric service. I could not find all the types of service available... so I will need to research more to see if they have an 'agricultural' service or something similar that will not require having a septic system.

Anyways, after feeling pretty bummed out by that revelation... I got outdoors so that I could get caught up on some of my routine chores... and of course do more packing related tasks. Doing the former was not all that bad... and I even got that other blanket and sleeping bag washed out and hung back up to dry.

As for the packing related tasks goes the only things that I worked on was getting those 'contico' boxes and a big tote scrubbed with bleach water... along with washing the funk off of more lumber. As far as the boxes (and the tote) go I think that I got them clean enough for my purposes... but whoa that lumber is going to take a lot more scrubbing to get it ready for paint.

Overall, today was not super productive... but that is just going to be how it is because I cannot quite pull off doing one highly productive day after another... without getting totally burned out. My latest strategy is to do one day with a heavy workload... followed by a day of doing light duty tasks... which should not only help me avoid feeling constantly fatigued... but also leave me enough time to do my routine chores.

Well, I think that is all the words that I have in me for this entry. I hope that everyone is doing well. Ta ta for now.


Obligatory image.

Thanks for reading!

Please check out the Homesteading Community!

Cheers! & Hive On!

All content found in this post is mine!

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center