Adventures In Homesteading (Day 32)

Hello Everyone!

Phone madness, The struggle is surreal, A repaired weed-eater, Ah the music, My food intake is subpar & Oh the lack of anything close to flat!

Alright, I am beginning the writing a little earlier than I did yesterday... which yup is staying consistent with my new non-schedule. Hopefully, I can eventually get into a better routine with it all... because as boring as it may sound... I like doing things at the same time each day.

Last night it was a total clustercuss to get the writing posted... because I decided to quit struggling so much (when I tried uploading the images for the entry) and just renew my monthly cellular plan. I will refrain from all the details of that ordeal... but basically an hour later I found that unlike most prepay plans... the only way to 'restart' a month is to purchase a new plan.

For the life of me I could not find where to buy the same plan... so I wound up purchasing the next tier plan... which includes more data but honestly is not worth the extra ten bucks. I am still pretty annoyed that I 'restarted' my monthly plan early (to get rid of being throttle) because I was only three weeks into using it... and feel like it was a big fat waste of money.

Without the data being throttled the phone has become 'useful' again... but it still loses its connectivity a lot, randomly stops working... and all that fun stuff that I have complained about 'ad infinitum' when dealing with cellular data over the years. It kind of sucks, but after paying that bill plus my electric bill... I do not think that I will have enough to buy a replacement cellular repeater amplifier just yet... so I will just have to keep coping with all the hassle.

Anyways, today was not a super productive day... but early this morning I got down in one of the gulches, broke up more kindling... and got more long sticks gathered up. I was unsure just how many more good long sticks that I would found... but after picking through a few brush piles I found enough to add more shade to that area that my black locust seedlings are in.

Not long after all that jazz... the fella that has been helping me visit the spring to get water and do my supply runs swung by with the weed-eater that he had repaired the fuel lines, the pump ball and the carburetor on for me. While he was here I also showed him that big cedar that I want to fell... and I think that between the two of us (and some gear) we can get it on the ground safely.

After all that I wound up digging through a bunch of my stuff to find an old netbook that has a bunch of music on it... so that I could do a bit of a sound check on the music rig with something better than a phone. The difference in sound is quite amazing... plus the phone tends to take way too long loading each track (because they are big files) and the 'silence' between tracks is a bit annoying.

For the remainder of the day I piddled around with one small task after another... but avoided doing anything too strenuous given how much physical exertion that I did yesterday. Maybe if I was eating more than a few mayonnaise (or peanut butter) and wheat bread sandwiches each day I would have more calories to work with... but at the moment my food budget is pretty much nonexistent.

As I have stated numerous times before just getting around the damned place is quite the workout... and half the time I am on one sort of uneven terrain or another... which yup is just about as uncomfortable as it sounds. If you have never had the experience of having literally nothing flat to work with... try it... and let me know in a month not just how you feel about it... but how all your muscles and joints feel after constantly coping with it!

Well, on that note I am going to wrap this up and try to enjoy the remainder of the day. I hope that everyone is doing well. Ta ta for now.


I am unsure what these little purple flowers are but they are neat looking!


I also found these tiny white flowers that I have no idea what they are.


There are so many small eastern cedars that are this size and smaller!



The wheat grass is doing awesome in the pool.


More shade for the baby black locust trees!

Thanks for reading!

Please check out the Homesteading Community!

Cheers! & Hive On!

All content found in this post is mine!

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
5 Comments