Harvest, Delivery, Wing Stand, Rebuilding Bracket, Batch 87 Finished, Futile Sweeping, Mooshing - Monday

A bit frantic for me, in a calm focused sort of way, yesterday morning as I dug through the garden for enough cucumbers to fulfill my order the I had to deliver before 10am. While they may not be the biggest they are nice cukes and I gave all that I had which was more than the order. I hope it makes up for the few wonky ones in the mix.

IMG_20230925_084028.jpg

I got to the co-op by 9:30 and dropped the order. I then headed south to the Harbor Freight store in the valley to buy the wing stand.

IMG_20230925_094020.jpg

This stand is PERFECT! I have a set of lights that mount to the bracket that I won't need. The thing was on sale for $35 and I think the stand alone is worth that to me. I extended it out once I got home and pushed down on the top to find that it holds a lot of weight. It will more than be able to hold the weight of my wing.

IMG_20230925_104023.jpg

I took it out to the plane and set it next to it and was again extra pleased with how perfect it seems to be. The height is perfect.

IMG_20230925_104634.jpg

It was around noon when I pulled the bracket from the trailer and busted it apart.

IMG_20230925_120501.jpg

I cut the spacers down to 8 inches from the 12 that I had them at.

IMG_20230925_121204.jpg

Then I ground the ends to remove all the burrs and sharp edges.

IMG_20230925_121443.jpg

I realized after I put the saw away that I needed to cut the all thread as well so out the saw came again and I lopped each of them down over 4 inches each. I ground the cut ends down then used one of the nuts to clean the threads.

IMG_20230925_122011.jpg

It took a bit but I got it all back together again. I am now trying to figure out the best way to attach it to the trailer as I am not a fan of the ratchet straps through the pipe. I am going to look at my chain link fence parts for something today.

IMG_20230925_123552.jpg

The freeze drier finished its run of all tomato. It took 10 hours longer than the prior but that was because all the trays were filled with mooshed tomatoes.

IMG_20230925_144210.jpg
IMG_20230925_144227.jpg

All 5 trays popped right off the liners and I had them all bagged in a big produce bag.

IMG_20230925_144306.jpg

Mid afternoon I got the trailer hooked up and the empty barrels loaded for the grain run I have done this morning already.

IMG_20230925_151250.jpg

I then went up on the roof and swept a bunch of pine needles off.

IMG_20230925_154844.jpg

An hour later as I was moving things to the garden shed the winds picked up as the low pressure system made its way over us. The wind blew the pine trees which then proceeded to dump bucket loads of pine needles all over the farm and the house. My sweeping had been totally for nothing as there are now more needles on the roof than there was before I swept... DOH! At least I got the snowblower running and it is ready for the coming winter. Nicely it started on the first pull of the cord.

IMG_20230925_165203.jpg
IMG_20230925_165207.jpg

While dinner was cooking I found myself mooshing the dried tomato down to a powder. I managed to get the large part of it powdered and there won't be too much more to have to mash. I will have to figure out how much it will take to make a cup of paste but then I will mylar bag it in portions.

IMG_20230925_175932.jpg

It was nifty during the day. Mead airport has a CTAF of 122.9 which I saved as a channel on my base station. I had it saved and was on for about 5 minutes when I heard a plane call in inbound. I heard them call in again after a few minutes and when I had stepped outside on the porch I watched the plane fly overhead. I then listened as they hit down wind, then base, then final and landed then took off. I have to put in the Deer Park and Felts Fields CTAF channels as well.

IMG_20230925_200542.jpg

This morning I was woken when R came in at 3am due to a bad dream and after that I couldn't go back to sleep. I finally gave up and just got up around 4am and was out of the house on my way to town well before 5. It rained overnight and is still raining this morning but at least I am back on the right side of the Steam Plant to pickup the grain.

Today I have to empty the grain barrels, work on the ramps, wash my clothes, Man Utd plays at noon, if it stops raining today I should go check on the pumpkins in the upper garden, should get another batch going in the freeze dryer, and I am going to turn the water off to the potato garden.


300x600-2
^Affiliate/Referral Link^


For more information about our farm:
Fleming Family Farm
FLEMING FAMILY FARM, LLC
Sustainable & Organic Methods | Heirloom Produce
All images are original works of Fleming Family Farm unless otherwise notated and credited.

If you find this post useful or entertaining, your support is greatly appreciated by upvoting, following, and sharing!

Donations or Tips

Bitcoin : 1C6idTJBJ3CJJt9kHoKi4av1XLzg8eQ7rv

Capture.JPG


FFF Runic.png

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center