Glowing Sky Orb, Chores, Steam, Greenhouse, Trailer, Emergency Plumbing Repair, Fire, Grilling - Friday

Finally, after 7 straight days of weather the glowing sky orb finally made an appearance. It was nice and above freezing before dawn but then the temps fell a bit as the sun rose. The entire hill is now devoid of snow thanks the the inches of rain.

IMG_20231208_092116.jpg

Even much of the yard and gardens are cleared now. The only remaining snow is the sides of where I ran the snowblower.

My morning was spent on chores in the house, shaving, washing my clothes, and picking up around the house.

IMG_20231208_092121.jpg

It took most of the morning for the sun to finally get high enough to shine through the trees.

IMG_20231208_094617.jpg

When it finally did start shining on the hangar the ice began to evaporate and it looked like the hangar was smoking or on fire.

IMG_20231208_120212.jpg
IMG_20231208_120222.jpg
IMG_20231208_120230.jpg

It steamed for a while until the bulk of the moisture had turned to vapor.

IMG_20231208_120246.jpg

The USDA has put out the new version of the Plant Hardiness Map. We are 6b from what they say but are actually more in the 6a for our micro climate.

2023 USDA plant hardiness zones.png

Mid day I spent a bit of time shoveling the snow away from the bottom of the greenhouse so I have access to the screws that hold the plastic in place. Tonight we are going to get up to 5 inches of snow but then it will rain on top of it. My hope is that I will have a weather window which will allow me to change out the plastic next week.

IMG_20231208_131721.jpg

After picking the boys up from school I hooked the trailer up and loaded the barrels for my grain run that I have done this morning.

IMG_20231208_141653.jpg

I had put the hose in the hot tub to top it off and when I went to turn the hose on down stairs I noticed a little leak on the union on the water line by the pressure switch. So I got the hose turned on then went to the tool shed and got a couple pairs of pliers. I tightened the union a bit thinking it might just be loose, but no the threaded part was cracked and when I tightened the union it opened the crack more and started to blast water around the basement.

So I shut the well off and had to bail bucket of water up and outside until the pressure dropped fully.

IMG_20231208_142726.jpg

I went to my parts bins and found that I didn't have good union so off to North 40 I went. I got 3 of them so I have spares. It took only a minute to swap the part out and soon I had it all connected and the well back on. No leaks in it now, and also why I installed unions now so I can get it all apart easily.

IMG_20231208_150200.jpg

With the repair done, it was about 4:30 when I got the fire going in the pit for the evening.

IMG_20231208_162824.jpg

I kept checking on the tub to see if it was full but I found that the filter was clogged and not letting any water through. Thankfully we have a new filter so I got that on and the tub was soon filled. Thankfully also the added time had allowed the water to heat fully by the time we went to get in.

IMG_20231208_163017.jpg

I grilled our burgers and got the potatoes through the oven for dinner.

IMG_20231208_183318.jpg

I was happy that the water chems were in line and only needed a tiny bit to be correct. I managed about an hour before I had to get out.

IMG_20231208_202312.jpg

This morning I have been to town for grain already and will empty the 3 barrels after Man Utd lose their match which they are trying hard to do. It is 20F this morning and the snow will be here this afternoon, forecast is for up to 6 inches by Sunday. My pants will finally get here today with the mail, I need to keep writing on my story, I will grill again tonight in the snow, and I will see what else comes up today.


300x600-2
^Affiliate/Referral Link^


For more information about our farm:
Fleming Family Farm
FLEMING FAMILY FARM, LLC
Sustainable & Organic Methods | Heirloom Produce
All images are original works of Fleming Family Farm unless otherwise notated and credited.

If you find this post useful or entertaining, your support is greatly appreciated by upvoting, following, and sharing!

Donations or Tips

My Amazon Wish List

Bitcoin : 1C6idTJBJ3CJJt9kHoKi4av1XLzg8eQ7rv

VSC Wrapped Bitcoin - flemingfarm

Alby Addy.JPG

satsforads.jpg

Capture.JPG


FFF Runic.png

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center