Title: Navigating the shock of adoption: My experience

Adoption have not just emerged, it has been in existence right from the time of Moses in the Bible where King Pharaoh ordered all his people to kill every male

child and through them into the Nile, but let every girl live - Exodus 1:22.
On this note, Moses' mother, after giving birth, she hid him for three months but when she was no longer able to hide him, she got a Papyrus basket and coated it with tar and pitch, and put him in the river bank. When Pharaoh's daughter went to bathe, saw him, she adopted the child - (Exodus 2:1-10).
In this manner the child (Moses) did not think twice, he accepted his fate and his name was given to him by his adopted parent. In this context, there was no adoption documents to back the adoption up on those days.
What is adoption document?
This is the legal paper issued by a court of law during the finalization hearing which formalizes that the relationship between the adoptee and adoptive parent(s) is legally binding and to be considered the same as any parent/child relationship.
Now let's talk about myself, discovering that my parents are not my biological ones can be life-altering. I will simulate a hypothetical reaction as a human would, exploring various emotions and thoughts within me. The first shock that would grip my heart will be to find out if the adoption documents had been produced for evidence. This could make me feel worrisome and frustrated. I guess it will take me some weeks to recover from the nightmare. A terrible experience indeed.
It might seem like a joke at first hearing but here is reality. Well, in this case what will I do? will I kill myself? NO! I need to move forward and verify things about myself and my biological parents. I will investigate to get the truth about the matter. I will try to find any relatives to my late parents to get details about my adoption. This will give me the full picture of the whole situation of my life. Although this might seem like digging too deep into my past, it will relieve me of the tension, and make me realize how much my foster parents have done for me.
So, looking at it from the above perspectives, I will appreciate my adopted parents more, and considering the fact that they mean well for me and legalized the adoption with documents, it means a lot to them, and I will try to put the past behind me and embrace the reality with soberness and affection.
Since my adopted parents has taken me as their first daughter as the one through which their womb was opened, gave me the best of education parents can give their children, what more do I want in life. I wouldn’t have known whether my biological parents would be able to cater for me this way. Therefore, I have no regret at all.
Conclusively, one thing or the other might cause a child being adopted, such as dead of the parents, sickness, absconded parents, madness, abandonment, unwanted pregnancy etc. But I come to realize that my biological parents died on a ghastly accident on their way coming from hospital and I was the only survivor, no siblings, but was taken care of by my grandmother who died suddenly when hearing the news. I was then taken to a motherless home where I was being taken care of. Along the line, my adopted parents came for my aid. I can tell you that this is a story of self discovery and love.
I will be very grateful to my adoptive parents for accepting me, without which I wouldn’t be alive today. Nevertheless, there is no cause for alarm, they are my parents. Thank you for reading.

  1. item1
  2. item2
  3. item3
H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
1 Comment