An unexpected job I find myself doing.

Source: https://www.freepik.com/search?format=search&query=A%20black%20kid%20with%20funny%20smile.

Hello Naija hivian this is my entry to the prompt of the week which says "If you could do anything for work,what is the silliest job you would do?

According to Myles Cyrus "when life puts you in a tough situation, don't say "Why me" Just say "Try me".
Life usually put us in situations we never expected. I find myself in a situation that I couldn't forget—a job that I considered very stressful and silly.

I was in my room watching movie as usual, my dad was a sailor who is not always around, I had written exams and prepared to get into the university. I was in the living room with my mom watching a movie when my mom's phone rang.After a few minutes on the call, she began to cry. I asked my mom what the problem was, but she could not give me any answers. I persuaded her before she opened up to me that my dad was ill and in the hospital.

This turned out to be one of the worst days of my life. Within the space of one month, things turned out bad for us; we could not even live very well, and there was no money to cater for our needs because my dad was the breadwinner of the family. I couldn't even resume with my friend at the university because there was no money.

I decided to embark on a quest for a job despite most places seeking graduates, and I had just finished secondary school.After an extensive search for a job, a friend finally called me about a vacancy at a primary school. I went there hoping to teach older students, only for the head of school to inform me that they needed someone who can take kids to the toilet, and sing for them. I couldn't imagine me dancing for kids and singing lullabies all day. Nonetheless, I accepted the job. But really, you can call me a toilet assistant.

The first day of work was really stressful; the kids would take turns reporting silly issues to me, like "Aunty David said my eyes are big and "Aunty Daniel said I'm looking at him. This child will always cry when you don't sing to them.The funny and weird part is how this kids poop usually smells,the smells are usually weird due to their intake of diet and junks.

At first, the job was strange to me, but with time, I got more attached to the kids, as if they were my kids. This unexpected journey of becoming a pre-school assistant was not something I had imagined, but sometimes life had its twists and turns and it was something we experienced that could change our lives. Ending up as a pre-school assistant wasn't a job I would love to do, but finding myself doing it, made me cherish my mother catering for kids. It wasn't easy, having to dance all day for kids to sleep, singing for them, and taking them to the toilet, but it was a remarkable experience that I was able to adapt and form connection with the kids despite the initial discomfort.

Our personal growth comes from pushing past circumstances and embracing new situations. The job is one silly job I can't imagine myself doing , just imagine people thinking you are a teacher, only for them to find out that your job is to take kids to the toilet and sing for them.
But when I find myself doing it, it makes me realise that even the silly and stressful job can bring a smile to our faces and make life more interesting.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
4 Comments