An Embarrassing Event

Pexels

When I saw the prompt by Hive Naija to tell a story reflecting on a significant life event that taught me an important lesson , I wondered which of my life tutorials I should pick. I have seen things on this planet! Several experiences as a kid, and countless as I grow older. The challenge I have with lessons is that one gets wiser on a daily basis. I wonder which day one can attain that level where one can just rest and know you need not panic about another life experience loading or lurking around the corner! One of the shockers I had as a kid was discovering I was almost molested by an elderly lady (lol!). It was when I grew up that I got to know what it was, but as of then, I innocently excused myself because the situation seemed awkward. As funny as it sounds, you’ll be surprised that this was how some kids got infected with diseases they can never explain to date. But thanks be to my maker, I left the scene before Anty uncovered, and as small as I was, I moved with a speed synonymous with that of light. This is just the first course of my piece; now I’ll dive into the major course. Let’s feast!

What you are about to read is one of the most embarrassing moments of my life. I had a guardian, whom I spent some time with during my stay in a particular state. The man is generally strict, even with his children. But I have never had any reason to experience strict handling. I get punished by my parents if I commit any offense, but it’s not really strict, like don’t talk in public places, don’t go to your friend’s place, and other funny rules as such. I had seen the man deal with his children very harshly, but he always gave me my respect (sort of). I never knew my punishment was being piled up.
During my stay at the man’s place, we all attended the same church. It was a very big church with lots of influential congregations. I had made new friends because I had attended church the previous time I was with my guardian. My friends and I often sit together to chit-chat during service since I'm not allowed to visit them. At least we can catch up during service and a little more after service. This is typical of almost every kid in the church. Most parents were as strict as my guardian!

Pexels

On this fateful day, it was a church anniversary for the youths, and several dignitaries came; both local, national, and international guests were invited. The choir rendition was like a song rehearsed in heaven and delivered on earth. The soloist did justice to the song, with appropriate falsettos just in time to give the back-ups the chance to contribute their sweet parts. I even joined the crowd in a standing ovation! In short, all the activities in church that day were at their peak! The pastor preached, and there came the man, my guardian! He was called upon to give closing remarks and appreciate all the guests. Maybe he had been waiting for the moment, or it was just the devil's work, I don’t know! I was chatting with my peers as usual, and the man, right from the altar (I still can’t figure out how he sighted me from a distance), called out my name to stand up because I was chatting with my peers! He told me to stand to my feet as a punishment for talking during service! The funny thing is, he didn’t mention any other person’s name, not even his children or those with whom I was chatting, but he called on me! I stood up and became famous! It was the most embarrassing moment of my life because it wasn’t just any day; it was a special day. The lesson I learned from this is never to follow the crowd and never expect too much from people, even if they seem nice to you. In a few weeks' time, I arranged another apartment where I could settle anytime I was in town, so I wouldn't have to stay with the man again. Although I was young, he later apologized, but it was too late! From that moment till date, I can say the event humbled me and made me a student of life and circumstances.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
11 Comments
Ecency