WHAT A FALLACY

Right from when I was much younger till now, there are different superstitious sayings that I've been made to believe. These myths grow together with my habits and character.
Source

Going into the field to play, I never got close to the famous insect called the praying mantis because my grandmother had told me that praying mantis produces tiny baby snakes. This didn't just scare me but it made me hate the insect praying mantis and since this came from grandmother, who am I not to believe her.

I can also remember the day Mom told Joy our nanny that she should never sweep my feet again whenever she's sweeping. She emphasized the belief that sweeping a girl's feet prevents a girl from getting married and I also believed Mom. The poor girl felt horrible and since then she had never dared to sweep her own feet as well.

The other day we went to the hospital for my eye check-up. Mom first took the lead until we went to the small corridor passage where an old woman was sitting stretching her leg so much that it was on the other wall. Since that was the only way to pass and she was sleeping I had to cross over her leg and pass. But just immediately after I Crossed, Mom gave me a knock and dragged my ears then made me cross the old woman's leg back.
Since there was no other way to pass aside from waking the woman we had to go and take the long path in order to meet the doctor. After we left from there mom warned me never to do what I do out there again. She also made me believe that crossing someone's feet will make you birth the person. Like the physical features will be that of the person's feet you crossed in the future. She warned me not to ever cross anyone's feet whether they are sitting down and stretching their leg or laying down.

And then there's this common superstitious belief of eating food in the dream. Mom dragged my ears saying repeatedly that eating food in the dream means that you were fed by a witch or a wizard and because of this Mom had always ensured that we ate to our satisfaction before going to bed and no matter the time we felt hungry we should eat before going to bed.
Source

All these superstitious beliefs grew alongside my character and life's perception. But there’s this one I’m really scared of till date and that's the one for the reptile popularly called the snake lizard. Not just me but a lot of people have the superstitious belief that this reptile is usually sent by a snake to inspect an area before the snake resurfaces, and then it goes back to inform the snake that the coast is clear. It is also believed that whenever you see this reptile then there's certainly going to be a snake there. And that was how they derived the name Snake Servant. Gosh…, What a Fallacy?

THANK YOU FOR READING
WHAT ARE DOES SUPERSTITIOUS BELIEVE YOU GREW UP WITH LETS SHARE TOGETHER.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center