My little contribution for my country

In as much as the country is not in good shape right now, there are still some people with the true spirit of patriotism.

I am a Teacher by profession, and being a teacher in Nigeria is nothing to write home about in terms of poor welfare package, delay in salaries, delay in promotion in some states, lack of training funds, and harassment from parents and students amongst others.

Still, as a Teacher and an education enthusiast, I try to work positively and make my impact extend beyond the classroom and have a far-reaching benefit to the community.
Source
Our communities, our states, the country as a whole needs a functional education system to equip learners with requisite knowledge, attitudes and skills to enable them relate and adapt successfully to the rapid socio- economic, cultural and political changes in the society.

I have been a practicing teacher for over a decade, and I have spent most of my time as a teacher in a remote area. And this makes it a lot more challenging for me to make my impact felt, it takes an extra effort for you to deliver.

Everyday, I am faced with students from very poor socio economics background, very poor educational background, children from parents with no education at all and doesn't understand why one needs to be educated.

Due to the current social vices in the country, where children are wrongly exposed to the internet (social media in particular) which has made them believe that's the only place to make money is through social media and scam.

Where the society appreciates, supports and encourages entertainment rather than education. Even our government would invest more in other sectors than education.

With all these and lots more, the students tell you "school na scam". It takes you as a teacher to device non traditional means of teaching, educating and mentoring to change the fixed mindset of these children. Because it will take you a lot of effort, time and commitment to convince the children of now a days. What they see is what they believe.

Image uploaded from my phone's gallery

A student that sees a teacher not dressing fine, a student that sees a teacher coming to school everyday without a car, students who sees teacher as generally poor, how would you convince them that education is not scam. When singers, dancers, people with social madness are living in millions and billions.

As someone that is bothered about the economic growth of these nation, I believe getting this children educated is the starting point of the future of this country. And that is where I put my professionalism into play.

To achieve these, I have been trying to make impact in the following ways.

Promoting inclusivity and equality. We have students with different backgrounds, beliefs and abilities.
There are some student that are naturally timid, and you see their counterpart doing a lot better than them, which could be as a result of some factors, because of these, I come so low to their level and make them feel so free to relate with me, inspire their minds, and give them a sense of purpose. if they can relate freely with me, then their ego can be boosted among their peers and they see themselves as equals and they are ready to participate. And that is the starting point of my own teaching, you teach students you can communicate with effectively.

Once you build that positive relationship, you begin to identify their problems, and you begin to change their mindset. From there I knew most of their problems were from their own home and their immediate community.

I know many of them need to be empowered, which is what I wish I could do, yes, i can give them the knowledge and skills but they need aid, and the resources to do that are not within my reach. To make things easier, I needed the parents but knew getting to the parents seemed difficult, they lacked the understanding that they were stakeholders in their children's education.

Image uploaded from my phone's gallery

I had to go the extra mile to seek out the prominent and learned ones in the community, most especially the reasonable and ready to do politicians among them. sometimes I would bypass the administration to avoid delays through protocols I just needed my aim to be achieved.

Through this, I was able to reach out to people who can help with the basic things the students need to understand the knowledge and skills that are required to succeed in their future careers and become an active and engaged citizens in their communities.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center