"Don't Eat With Your Ten Fingers"


poverty-4561704_1280.jpg

There is something special about a child's brain that it remembers even an event that occurred years ago. It used to be funny how we all tend to remember those childhood memories and tales, the mischievous stuff we created and how everything played out.

There was this quote I read on a big signboard some years ago when I was very young. I was in primary school and funny how this life quote has stuck with me till now as a reminder. We never knew what life has for us but in one way, when we go through some tough times, those things we learnt start coming back to our brains and we then relate them to our present situation confirming their authenticity and importance in our lives.


We were travelling to see my maternal grandmother in our dad's car on this particular day and while we were happy and enjoying the fun as a family, at some point, I would focus on the outside counting the number of cars that passed ours, reading the inscription on each signpost placed beside or at the middle of the road. I was so glued to this and it was fun reading and at the same time testing my ability to read words at a glance.

One of the signposts had this young boy who placed his fingers in his mouth and was drenched with oil coming from his hand down to his shirt. Underneath it was the word written boldly in Yoruba, "masè fi ọwọ męwęęwa rę jęun" In translation, it means, do not eat with your ten fingers.

It was funny while trying to pronounce the words because I was just coming up with the language and was always taking my opportunity to make sure I could read fluently. As I struggled to read, my mom who has been noticing all along had to help me pronounce the words and I kept repeating it in my mind. I sat back in the car and started imitating what the boy did and I laughed faintly and wondered how someone could be eating with their ten fingers. Is that even possible?


As short as the quote was, I didn't understand what it meant until when I started growing up. Every event that has happened around me brought back the word so clearly that I now realise its true meaning.


money-1885540_1280.jpg

The quote is a metaphor which means one should not spend all they have but to keep some for the rainy days. There is what we call an emergency where we don't know the next unexpected thing life may toss at us. But knowing there is something we have prepared beforehand to deal with such occurrences gives us the peace we ever needed instead of being in confusion and depression.

Years have passed when I started seeing the results of this quote in my life and how it has changed me and impacted how I take my future seriously when it comes to building financial independence. Coming to have the knowledge of financial education and how we can save ourselves from unexpected life occurrences by being proactive in tackling them has saved me a lot of time today which I am grateful for.

When it comes to resources, I know how to spend and manage them in the best way, leaving behind some for what might happen so that I don't have to start begging people for financial help, I take control and make sure I don't eat with my ten fingers. We cannot spend everything all at once without sparing some in case of anything as we don't know what emergency may arise later, so it is best to be prepared and ready to solve them with what you have.


I don't joke with emergencies that there are a lot of times when I have been able to solve those emergencies with ease, I feel so peaceful and confident because of my decision. The quote has been a lifesaver to me. Whenever I think about my finances and future, the quote just flashes through my mind and I would smile knowing it is very effective for me today.

When you don't eat with your ten fingers today which in another sense is to live a prudent life by saving a portion of your earnings for the rainy days, not living above your means and being prepared for the emergencies of life, everything will surely work well for you. Also, note that saving alone doesn't make one wealthy but letting your saved money work for you which is called investment.


Images from pixabay:1 || 2

Thanks for your time reading. Looking forward to your interaction.

20240101_131050_0000.png

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
12 Comments