That Costly Leap of Faith

Traveling really isn't my thing, but this trip to my girlfriend's was very important—as usual, though. What makes traveling easier for me is having earphones to escape with, listening to music, or watching films and videos. This trip in particular, though, would be the one I would lose my earphones on.

1711405311596 (1).jpg

I hardly forget things at the places I travel to. And so when I was to return, I knew I had my earphones in their case and right in my pocket.

The problem with most wireless earphones is that they are usually not as good as wired earphones for phone calls. I was going to have a lot of phone calls on the way, and so I used the wired earphones all through the journey and left the wireless earphones in my pocket.

How the earphones vanished into thin air, I still cannot explain to this day. Twenty-two thousand naira worth of Oraimo Freepods 4—gone! Just like that.

SpacePods

I am not the kind to panic in such situations anyway, so when I checked all of my bags and the room I lived in then and didn't find it, I let it go.

However, Jay cannot be without wireless earphones, and so I knew I was going to buy a new one when I had the chance. When I got to the market, I did something else instead.

The Freepods 4 had gotten more expensive, costing twenty-nine thousand naira. On the other side of the counter, there were the new SpacePods that were recently launched.

IMG_20240108_182040.jpg

Since the SpacePods were thirty-seven thousand naira, a completely different product that I hadn't tried, and only eight thousand naira more than the Freepods 4, I took them instead.

Yes. Even my girlfriend was astonished at the amount I could spend on earphones. I like to think that value is perceived differently by people. We all have our expensive indulgences.

As for me, I was exploring. It was my third pair of earphones in the same line-up. And the real reason I bought it instead was because I hoped that it would have way better audio than its predecessor, the FreePods 4.

Freepods 4

The Oraimo SpacePods look way better, too, and feel better. Other than that, I am not sure how different it is from Freepods 4.

The Spacepods and Freepods 4 have identical shapes and forms. Even the casings are similar, with the only difference being the color and texture.

Having used the SpacePods for seven months now, I have not seen that much of a difference between them and the Freepods. They both sound really good, but I can't say the SpacePods sound better. And they even have similar battery lives.

I didn't really mind that the SpacePods weren't that different. The annoying thing is that the same call audio problems I had on Freepods 4 were exactly the same on the SpacePods.

People would always complain that they do not hear me clearly when I have my earphones on. To hear the same complaints on the SpacePods killed me.

I had just wasted money.

Journaling moment...

On the bright side, I had first-hand experience, which I really love, and the SpacePods look way nicer than the monochrome look of the Freepods. It sounds great even after using it every day for the last seven months.

That, dear reader, is one of the things I have spent a lot of money on recently, inspired by the Hive Naija weekly prompts.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center