This content was deleted by the author. You can see it from Blockchain History logs.

ONBOARDERS ALERT⚠️

3RTd4iuWD6NUeJEn5AVrJUoyatFqBqfcCJi1N7UixR4g2KPKN7w8NpZJDQTJaHzAwLBE1VguWLsq1GTjLZEV5veoNK5KR7mQeV8r3zjwWsoX2dKJTMKmqfYKefGZcmweyo3gfww7FDtkCNFy49U6Y6u3KtncGESyAj6VsJFN8E6xLe.png

NEW DISCOVERY

"The idea is to create original content for Hive not dump years of someone's blogs into Hive blockchain to farm rewards/get paid for that copypasta spam. There are some users who are an exception to this as they are popular influencers and they actively promote Hive on other platforms."

At a time like this when we have the angels of Hive( onboarders) tell their story due to the week 28 Hive Naija contest, it seems a perfect time to present the paragraph above to all and sundry. That is a statement made few days ago by someone I respect in Hive and it seems to re-configure my theology about this Hive ecosystem and how it workers.

So over to you onboarders, like the kind-hearted @dwixer, the diligent @balikis95 or senior man @kenechukwu97.

Prior Knowledge

Firstly, I fully understand that content on Hive should be mine or should I say original– no plagiarism, no breaking of copyright laws for pictures, appropriate sourcing and referencing, etc.

So my interpretation of "original content" was that whatever I post– text, pictures or even research materials must be original to me– that is, they are mine! However, that first paragraph suggests much more to me. It seems to decribe "original content" to mean that my work must first be published on Hive before cross-posting elsewhere. Infact I can say that it tends to downplay or maybe negate my earlier understanding of what an original content means– that is that I created the material myself.

If the above is true, it therefore renders what my onboarder taught me obsolete or something of that nature. He taught me that I can cross-postake to Hive, but it has to be my own work and I can affix a link as footnote, so anyone can trace the cross-post to my very work.

But Now

Conversely, the current reality I think is that, once you sign up for Hive, you're obligated to publish your contents in Hive first. It's almost as if one is beholden to Hive as per posting.

Or maybe I should take this line in that first paragraph very literally– "..not dump years of someone's blogs into Hive.."". Meaning(the bold text) he is referring strictly to old work. So if an hour or 30 minutes ago I wrote something somewhere, it is allowed for me to post same on Hive. Is that correct please? [ I WELCOME SOME CLARIFICATION ON THIS]

untitled.gif

Why

So the "why" question now rears up it's head. Why Hive first? Someone answered somewhere that, one reason we must first post in Hive before elsewhere is because of how it is indexed in search engines. I'm not too clear with this @intishar, as I read through your onboarding is a responsibility.

Well I'm far from an authority in computer jargons, but if I may interprete that statement on search engines, I think it means that Hive wants to occupy the first position in the search engine indexing of materials linked to us( Hive). To what end? Well maybe this would help market the brand much more. I hope this will yield extra rewards for boggers here too.🙂🙃

I am informed that the vast majority of the Hive community has accepted the above cross-posting guideline and it is reflected in the proposal support. So my bad, I think, for not updating myself with the rules( or current rules) that guide happenings here.

Conclusion

I hope this has helped someone, plus I could do with more help from onboarders or anyone, to add more clarity to this whole new( to me ) guideline.

My onboarder has long stopped blogging, he told me years back that he's only focused on the gaming side of Hive, so I had to hone my craft here receiving help from so many very useful tips from strangers here and there and I have been so grateful to them.

I see interesting posts by hardworking onboarders here, like @seki1, @hopestylist and @hivedeb et al, I think I'm in good hands.

I have observed synergy thus far in this house of Hive Naija, so I anticipate useful comments pouring in.
Thanks

Greetings from,
da witty fella

Cheers