Lagos: THE TRAFFIC MASTER

[Source](Photo by Kelly : https://www.pexels.com/photo/crowded-street-in-nigeria-17290985/)

Lagos is a Hub where business thrives, one of the states in Nigeria where you find companies that are out of this world and a place where you find numerous opportunities. I have not done any research on the architectural design of the state but one of the things I notice is that there is no space in Lagos and it is a technology driven state. Before you say jack, there is the new technology in town and trust me lagosians are already on it. You might not find such technology in other states because this state is at the cutting edge of innovations. If you really want anything to go viral, start it from lagos and you will see how the numbers of the awareness increased rapidly.

You will have to permit me to see Lagos as a city and not just a state alone because I can't pick a part of Lagos.

[Source](Image by Pexels from Pixabay)

When I say no space, it not that there is no space to pack your car, your bike, or bicycle but am talking about the buildings and the roads. These houses are very close to each other and you tend to wonder how much those buildings are worth. Truly, they worth a fortune because in Lagos, the cost of living is very high and you tend to pay for everything in Lagos. My friend would always say "money made in lagos, stays in Lagos." If not that God was creative in the breathe of mankind, it is possible to pay for the breath that goes through your nose but God was too awesome to make that happen.

But when it comes to the lack of space on the road, this means that there is always traffic and funny enough, it is almost everwhere in Lagos that one tends to experience this. This city called Lagos is car centered but the stress that goes with it is nothing to right home about. It is not that everyone in Lagos owns a car but it baffles me how as early as 6am there is traffic already, before you know it there is this danfo driver shouting "wo Egbe e (look beside you)", you see the passengers checking their phones or wristwatches to know if they are running late or they begin to murmur when the traffic becomes stand still and after the whole stress of the day, then to go back home is another traffic experience. I experienced all these when i was still working. Do we say the roads are small? Do we say the cars are too much ? Do we say the roads shrink on their own accord? Truth be told, no answer can be given because when you get to the junction where what seems caused the traffic, you wouldn't say this is the exact thing that caused it.

One wakes up very early to get to work early, one will close later in the day and still get to home late at night. Many parents lost touch with their children because the parents are out to bed before the children and they get back home when children are in bed already. If you ask me what is the challenge, my answer would be "I don't know the answer."

Moreover, I don't own a car yet which I will very soon. My friends don't have yet and they are already working on it. So what if the people in my circle get there cars, so what will become of Lagos when it comes to road and cars? Maybe I should relocate to another state because I can't bear the trauma or the stress that comes with the road and the cars.

On the other hand, the state government have been working tirelessly to reduce the rate of the traffice people are experiencing which I must commend the state government. New overhead bridges have been contructed to reduce the rate of traffice. There are some routes that cause people to spend 5hours all in the name of the traffic but based on the measures put in place by creating new bridges, had really reduced it to around 1hour which is something commendable. I just hope a day will come where there will be no traffic.

This is my response to #MayInLeo day 8.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center