Minimalist Chic; Comfort And Confidence

Hi guys, it's been a while since I last made a post in the Hive Naija community; glad to be back.

To be candid, I'm the type of girl who chooses comfort over every other thing. My sis in law was talking to me some days ago; she said that I would rather dress like a boy than dress sexy. I was like so you expect me to wear a tight top and tight jeans when I have nowhere to go?
As much as I love wearing bodysuits, I love my comfort more than any other thing.



I have a very good fashion sense; you can never find a trendy outfit in my wardrobe, or a colored patterned shirt in my wardrobe. I honestly hate clothes that have too many colors and designs on them or even ones that have people's faces on them. That's a big no for me.
My favorite and always-to-go wear is a casual tee shirt with minimal to no design and a pair of jean trousers to match.
I barely wear colored clothes, so you'll only see black, white, nude, navy blue, or dark blue colors in my wardrobe.

1000197441.jpg
Source


People knew me as the girl who doesn't wear other people's clothes 😂. I have a habit of not using things I don't like. People would give me their used clothes, which I didn't ask for, and I would end up not wearing them because of either the design, color, or even how they looked on me. I had a bag where I would keep all the clothes gifted to me by strangers, and at the end, I would end up giving them to others. Most times I used to feel that it would hurt their feelings for not wearing the clothes, so I would try to come up with excuses why I don't want them.
It wasn't easy for me because my aunt stopped giving me clothes. After all, I wouldn't wear them. She had a different fashion sense, and we just couldn't rhyme. I've never worn a snake patterned shirt or even a velvet material before so why gift me something like that?



I dress up nice whenever I'm going to work, on a date, or to church. I only wear my oversized shirt and jeans whenever I'm going somewhere comfortable and not doing too much. I show up to every event looking like I'm worth it. After all first impressions matter a lot.

1000197442.jpg
Image is mine



Growing up, I was so insecure about my size and shape, and I just hated everything about myself. At one point, I would only wear baggy clothes because I thought that I could hide my flaws. I would only wear very big skirts and tops. I was so chubby and short when I was younger so I had a lot of hate comments about how I looked and how most clothes looked funny on me because of my size. Thank God the universe had another plan for me because I grew taller and beautiful and also changed my mentality about how I dressed and looked. It wasn't easy for me to overcome this because people always had something to say about how I looked.



Yes! The way I dress is a reflection of how I see myself today. I am confident, and I love myself, so I dress however I want without thinking about what people might say or think. Dressing pretty and nice boosts my self-esteem a lot.

This post is in response to Hive-Naija weekly prompt, click here for more info

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center