Birth Control Palava - The More The Better

If family planning or birth control is practiced here in my country Nigeria, the percentage of people practicing it is definitely lower than those who are not. Although, you could say some had the mind to do a family planning before they got into the marriage but life happens and plan changes.

Birth control in Nigeria is not a practice that is unheard of but you could say some are not aware due to lack of education while some practice it without the knowledge of it. And there are those who are totally against the idea and believe in the "The more the better" idea.

EOw9KxWFQZiAfbO0xcDhrg.jpeg

For me, I won't say I am for or against birth control because it depends on individuals and situation of these individuals and I'm yet to have a family of my own although I know I'm not going for the "the more the better" thinking. One of the purpose of procreation in a family is to care and train children to grow in all the love that's available for them.

I've always imagined how parents who have too many children to care for are able to show enough love to every one of them, it's quite impossible to fair in sharing the love among them. But this isn't close to the reason I would go for birth control. There are a lot of reasons to give birth to kids you can cater for and go over your capacity.

It's here in my country, couples keep having children after children because they are in need of a female or male child. You will find couples who have planned the profession of their children before they are born, giving birth to 10 kids for 10 different professions. You'll also find couples who have no plans but can't control when pregnancy comes, they just give birth to the children and move on to the next.

I've seen really large families in my country that it's hard to believe if family planning exists especially when they keep suffering but won't stop giving birth to more, it's kinda sad to watch but a lot of them have the excuse that they can't reject what God gives to them (He is the giver of children).

hFKFEOVmQMSxmrTTr6j5iA.jpeg

Having a family with fewer kids will not only help the family grow in a lot of ways, it would also be a help to the country's economy and help with a healthy population. I've stopped to wonder why it's mostly the rich couples in my country are the ones who pursue birth control and not the poor or average couples.

They have access to the education and they have plans or things to do instead of just giving birth to children even if they can take care of all of them with their wealth (note, other aspect of the care may not be there). But the poor or average couples have no education of it or they choose to neglect it because giving birth to as much children as possible could be what they can do to grow their family forgetting the duties that follows.

Some even birth children as investment for future, and a lot of other reasons. These reasons are making it hard for me to agree that my country is practicing family planning or birth control. Just a few are, I'll say.

This is my entry to the August Inleo Prompt Challenge with Day 6 focus on "Family Planning/Birth Control: Is this accepted in your country?". Don't know what to write on Hive today? You're invited to participate in the challenge.

Images are AI generated
20240101_094050_0000.jpg

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center