The Herbal Way.

"The benefits that flows in a leaf is the same quantity if not more, that flows in its bark(root)".


Source
Four years ago, out of idleness and unproductivity, I became intentional about studying leaves talmbout, their health benefits and side effects in cases of over dosage. Instead of enrolling for sophisticated courses that will give me more leverage after the end of the global pandemic (Covid 19), I chose to learn about leaves, see me ooo....mere writing about it now, I wished someone should had beaten some senses into me then. Haven't lived my younger years in the village, have always been surrounded with leaves (bushes) and have always seen how my people used it to their own advantage to cure themselves of sickness, illness ,diseases or anything at all that, makes their body system unease rather than taking Oyinbo's Chalk ( Drugs specifically, capsules) Apparently, my yet adventurous journey on garnering knowledge about almost everything about each kin of leaves wasn't an impossible mission because my dad is an Herbalist not a Shaman but, someone who treats disease by means of herbs (though,he is an Agriculturist by profession). Frankly, doing trial and error experiment on leaves doesn't seem to be a good route to get to where am heading to, Come to think of it, how do you expect an Accounting students to perform botanical test on leaves in the first place? That's nearly impossible! However, I didn't dwell in how unreasonable that sounded instead,I rode on my dads wings of knowledge.
One of my greatest achievement during that time was, when I helped my mum's friends treat her ulcer, I mean not to boast and I'm sorry if I sounded as if I was.

Home Remedies for Sickness/ Fever/ Cough.

Home Remedy for Fever

Leaves needed ;

  • Neem leaf
  • Lemon grass
  • Pawpaw leaf


Source
Neem Leaf : This leaf contains antipyretic and antimicrobial properties that helps to reduce and promote healing for fever. It also contain antibacterial properties that detoxifies the body system from built up bacteria(s).

Source
Lemon grass : Lemon grass has an aromatic smell unlike other grass.

Source

How To Prepare It.

Step 1 : Wash the leaves
Step 2 : Put them in a clean pot under a low degree burning fire. Allow it cook for twenty minutes and take 50ml of it in the morning, afternoon and night.

Home Remedy For Cough.

  • Menthol: Get an unprocessed menthol,deep in 25ml hot water and drink it as much as you want.
  • Ginger : Get a raw ginger,peel the outer body ,wash it and eat it. And if you can't take that, if can get the powder, pour two teaspoon in a 25ml hot water and take it while it still hot or warm.
  • Honey : Just lick this as much as you want, there is no over dosage for it.
  • Palm oil : Do same to this as honey.

© Medemausi

This is my entry for #julyinleo prompt day 12.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now