Aren't Holidays Meant To Be Fun?A Story I Never Knew I Could Tell.

I knew it was a decision birthed out of impulsive response to my sudden tiredness of how the educational system works in Nigeria seeing, how my cousin who had travelled to Europe to furthered her studies was fairing - it seemed all rosy and creamy for her and the greed of wanting that for myself engulfed me,"who no like better thing"?

Pexel
I deserved better I told myself, if only after toiling all nights and burning so many candles, the results were applaudable, that would had been fair. Apparently, I was one of few that was new to the system, that doesn't know how the system work,that wasn't ready to squeeze some naira notes into the large pockets of lecturers nor ready to scratch their backs.
After seeing my first semester result in my first year in school,I felt so done,so done with schooling.
I picked up my phone to inform my dad of the latest News flash of my life.

"Hello Daddyyyyy"..... I called out in a worn out tone.
"Ki lo se e "? (what's wrong ) He inquired in an inquisitive manner.
"
Dad! you are aware naw, you know how I put so much efforts into reading, you know how spent I felt after rounding up my papers for the semester, you know I overexerted myself and even fell ill in the process, all for what Daddy?All because I want to shine my teeth when checking my result. But No ooo, my school has decided to do their lot, have been cornered, my exam result show no evidence of what I had gone through
".
"Dee! I guessed you guys are on holiday, please come home, we will discuss this at length when you return because I clearly can't speak freely here, I'm still at the office, Dad abruptly interrupted my long chronicles of lamentation".

I left hostel for home the following day and my Dad was persuasive enough to talk me out of my irrational decision - His current financial capability can't back my sudden desire to relocate to another country to further my studies. But on a second thought, I think i was being inconsiderate too, my cousin whom I was modelling my life after is the only child of both parents so by default, they can afford that much for her unlike me, I'm from a very big family, my mum did quite numbers of pushing in the labour room,lol.
Now, I'm to face the reality and if I really want a positive change in my result, I definitely must do things differently, of which I did.

The Transitioning Circle.

The still steep of their leaps with buster of laughter cloud the air, if only that can be preserved, if only that could go on and on.

Holidays during childhoods were fun and of lasting momentum but then life happens. I dusted myself from the soil of my past failure and chose to do things better, owing to my Dad's advice.

  • I made sure to get all my reading materials ready before resumption date.
  • Draft out a list of all the provisions I would be needing for the semester.
  • Read some of the materials for the courses I'll doing for the next semester.
  • Actively participate in an online reading group created by our head of class.

And that, became my regular to-do list during holidays as a student, to enhance a smooth transitioning when I resume back to school. And did that help your result?Thanks to it, it sure did helped.

© Medemausi

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now