This Christmas holiday would be simple yet reflective for me

Nigeria used to have a slogan, "detty December," which implies the limitless availability of money to fund expenses needed to enjoy the festive period. This was rampant about two years ago; however, in recent times, there has been less boast or noise about detty December as the economy took an unexpected turn for most Naijans, in a way humbling our very urge. December, however, still comes with an aura of relaxation, enjoyment, and spending, especially when finances are available.

Fortunately, my annual leave from work falls within December, and I have begun taking it. Yesterday happened to be my first day of leave, and I spent it mostly at home, sleeping, eating, watching movies, and sleeping back. Today's similar to yesterday, with lots of movies and laziness to do anything. I hope to travel this weekend or early next week, and my destination is Delta State, where I am certain there will be plenty to eat, tour around the capital city, and perhaps make some new friends.

Changing the environment is a top priority for me. I have had to switch off my phone multiple times in the last 36 hours to reduce the number of calls that come in. My focus during this holiday is to rest, especially from anything that resembles work.

Christmas in the past, for me, has often been celebrated low-key because my siblings are not in the same geographical location. I have enjoyed going to some families to celebrate the festive season with them and, of course, enjoying some chicken laps. For now, I'm not sure if I'll be back to my place of residence before Christmas, and if I'm not, I guess I'll be having my first Christmas celebration in Delta State. I'm certain there will be chicken meat that day, even if it has to be ordered. And on the other hand, if I'll have to be back to my house (let the single breathe) before Christmas, I'll definitely arrange for a weighty chicken to be fried for Christmas. I have an unusual longing for fried chicken, and I'll be sure to have enough of that on Christmas Day.


IMAGE CREDIT

Would I go about visiting friends and family? I doubt that. It has been a tradition for children to visit different families during festive periods, but for me, I'll just enjoy the comfort of my home, the meditation on the essence of Christmas, and be certain to pick chicken parts while I'm entertaining myself with movies. I have accepted the fact that life has to be lived a little, and I should celebrate as long as it exists. I do not mind sightseeing or strolls during this holiday; I'm sure to find interesting and awkward dressings along the streets of Nigeria.

Problems do not end; we humans get extinct over time, and the least we can do is to enjoy the moment. I know I won't take a loan to enjoy the Christmas celebration, but I'll be sure to keep some significant amount handy for a reasonable treat.

Thank you for reading. I would love to have your comments and contributions.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center