The Look

I thought hard about this before I began to write. Because everyone knows that you know something till you're asked a direct question about it, right? It's like when you are asked in front of a panel of interviewers to explain to them who you are and all of a sudden, you have no idea who you are. Hehe.

So, that's how this felt for me. All of a sudden, I had no idea what the answer to the question was even though it should be the simplest question to answer. This week, the Hive Naija community wantto a know:

It's normal for family members to have a common trait, right? Share with us that common trait in your family and how you feel about having that particular trait in common with every member of your family.

And I thought very hard. What is that one family trait that all of us have? And when I say all of us, I mean frommy Mom all the way down to my siblings. My Dad didn't use to have this trait but I guess after so many years, he has gotten it too. I realized as I said this, what that common trait is.

I never knew what this trait was till secondary school why my friends asked why I randomly looked at people like that. "Like what?" I'd ask. And they tried to explain it as a look like I was looking dead into someone's soul. Like I was judging their entire existence with my eyes. I laughed it off and told them to stop being dramatic.

Please this is not it o. I don't know what I was doing here. Lol.

Over the years, I began to see the truth to that when more and more of my friends would say the same thing. One day, while I was conversing with one of my friends, she suddenly said, "Pause and maintain that expression!" I was confused but I did as she said. And then she brought a mirror to show me how I looked. True true guys, I do have judgy eyes. Like I was so surprised to see how accurate their description was.

My face was stoic but my eyes were piercing. It was a huge discovery for me. But then I did not know what to do about it. I assured my friends amidst the general laughter that it was not intentional and I did not realize when I was doing it.

It wasn't until a few of my friends came to visit me at my family house that the narrative changed. Suddenly, these friends of mine met my Mom and my sisters and soon enough, they exclaimed that they now understood why I couldn't change that look no matter how hard I tried and that's because everyone in my household practically had that same look at different points. I began too see it as well as they said it and we all laughed about it. I'm guessing it's from my Mom but she keeps denying it. Lol.

Concerning how I feel about it, I don't think there's much to feel. It's certainly nice to know I that I'm not a terrible person and that it is not something that can be helped. It's not like I'm glaring or giving anyone a nasty look, it's just.....judgy, I guess? Lol. Plus it certainly helps that I'm barely saying or doing anything and whoever I'm conversing with goes, "Okay I've heard, you don't need to look at me like that." And me I won't correct you that I did nothing. The bad side to everyone in my family having this look is that....everyone has the look. So if you like, give the look from now till tomorrow, no one is fazed, let alone intimidated.

So yeah, that's about it. The trait I share with everyone in my family. The look that makes people quiver. Just kidding, it's not that deep. Or is it? Lol

Jhymi


Images are mine.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center