Circumcision Revealed Myself....

I've always thought I have the right instinct, more or less like predicting exactly what plans or decisions will work for a particular circumstance, and I just thought if my plans are not followed then maybe things won't work out.

I've had countless scenarios where I would want a person to go with my idea because I believe my idea might give the situation a head start, since it's the only way I can help out. Plus to avoid the saying “had i know”.

But there was this situation that made me view my personality and character in a different way other than helping out or proofing how genuine my instincts are.



When I gave birth to my second boy, the delivery was smooth and clear and the matron did a perfect job with the delivery. It's actually a private clinic not that standard though but midwives sought of thing, it's just a place that knows the job perfectly.

After giving birth 8 days past and it was time for his circumcision, of cause since i gave birth in a private clinic and they did a great job with the delivery without stressing me out, i figured maybe they will do the same if i take my baby there for his circumcision, but i was wrong.

Hubby was against my idea and brought out his own suggestion, he said “Why not take him to the health center just as we did with our first son, a registered government firm, since it's a delicate matter the circumcision should be done by a registered matron or nurse.

I wave out his suggestion and convince him why I need to take him back to the private clinic. Hubby kept quiet about it and I went ahead with my decision.

On getting to the clinic, my assumption was not right, The nurse which the matron assigned over for the circumcision did something differently, instead of using Ring which is the modern method at the demarcation of the foreskin in between the cap and tail she used thread which is an ancient method of circumcision, the worst part was she cut out a lot of flesh at bottom part called the frenulum

When I questioned her she said it's the best and most beautiful. Well, I am not really after beauty for now, so long the injury doesn't cause any issues of us running up and down or contradicting his health.

I brought him home and did the normal routine i was told to do, pour hot water in it, bath him normal and rub penicillin in the injury.. but after 3 weeks i noticed the circumcision isn't healing and i was worried instead of the flesh covering up the injury was digging way deep and bringing out oil, the sight wanted to look like that oil part in pig meat.

Circumcision usually takes a week to heal after the ring falls off but this was different. We started running the rat race looking for treatment just to heal and dry out the surface of the injury.

Hubby was so mad at me and we got into an argument and he said “The problem I have with you is you always believe your decision is right and the best no one else is other than yours”. I paused for a while trying to rethink what he just said. Ohh ok so we've been together for what…… 10 years and you just telling me this now about my character wow…….

The funny thing though was that i never thought of my character that way, sure he brought in the idea of going to the health center but i thought where i delivered him would be less stress free and more affordable.

So maybe sometimes we don't always make the right decision, and instead of looking at it from one angle, multiple will be better. Besides, two heads are better than one. I've learned to listen to someone else's suggestion and give it a try instead of believing mine is the best and always the right decision .


This is My contribution to the Hive Naija weekly prompt


Till We Read Again


Original content by the author.

Resources: App: My Phone.
📷 Tecno camon 16s Smartphone
P.S Images are mine
✿ All Rights Reserved || © @fredaig 2023 ✿

💌 Discord: FredaIG*

Twitter(X): @FredaIG_INLEO

Facebook: Freda IG


H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center