A Taste Of Home: My Love for Pounded Yam and Vegetable Soup

It is always good to value what you have, civilization has brought in so many changes that made some of us forget where we hail from and lost our culture, most of us are now fans of noodles, spaghetti, and rice leaving our local food, even most children of this generation have never tasted their native food.

We are losing our culture just to copy others and neglecting our own, is it a crime to bring civilization into the world, at least we were living on so many things before the issue of civilization came into the limelight, must we neglect and throw away what belongs to us?

One of my favorite local meals is pounded yam with vegetable soup, this food is mostly common in the southern part of Nigeria, this meal is made from yam while we have different types of vegetable leafs in the country to combine with it

BeautyPlus_20240327161044820_save.jpg
THIS IS USED WITH A FOOD PROCESSOR

I was never a fan of heavy foods at all but my father made me fall in love with this meal, this is my father's favorite meal come rain come sun, my father can eat this meal in the morning, afternoon, and night, he has never for once get tired of eating it so this made it common in our house all because of him.

Each state in my country has the main dishes, there are so many foods in the southern part of the country but this particular food belongs to some states like Osun state, Ekiti state, and part of Ondo state but majorly this food belongs to EKITI STATE, in my state this is the meal will consider as the best meal to welcome any visitor coming to our state.

If you are coming to a Yoruba occasion and you aren't served this meal, especially in EKITI STATE then you are at the wrong place, this is what we consider as a correct meal in my state and this is so welcoming, though it is very stressful to prepare but we never mind the stress all we are after is the satisfaction we derive after eating this meal.

IMG_20230921_172918_972.jpg
THIS IS USED WITH A MORTAL AND PESTLE

IMG_20230921_172022_826.jpg

Though technology has made life easier in making this meal some people in my state will never make use of technology, normal after peeling the yam and boiling it for some minutes then we use a mortal and pestle to match it together, this takes minutes, and also requires energy but with technology, we now have what is called food processor, this food processor can do justice to the yam and become mold together within a twinkle of the eyes but most people from my state to go through the stress of using mortal and pestle till date.

Talking about vegetables, we have different types of leaves that we use in making our local soup, we have ugwu leaf, spinach, and so on, the preparation of this soup can make you bite your finger if care is not taken, vegetable soup belongs to every state in the country but depends on how you prepare yours that is what makes it different from each other, in my state we call our soup EFO RIRO This is where you grate your pepper and mix it with your vegetables with lots of protein.

BeautyPlus_20240327161513894_save.jpg

In my state we call it EFO RIRO because it is always dry without any traces of water in it unlike other soups like melon soup or water-leaf soup, this EFO RIRO always takes a different turn, if you are a Nigerian also from the southern part of the country then you will understand what I am talking about, I am not hyping because most people always run from it because of the hotness, it is always spicy but it worth it.

This is one of my local meals that I always enjoy eating whenever I am with my family. Let's all cherish and adore our culture and heritage.

NOTE:- ALL THE PICTURES ARE MINE

This is my response to day 12 of #septemberinleo of the inleo daily prompt. If you wish to join the daily prompt then you can click on the link

20231004_082714_0000.png

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center