The ordeal of sibling rivalry

Siblings rivalry is a type of competition, jealousy or animosity among siblings which can lead to hatred and bullying of each other. One of the major causes of siblings rivalry can be due to individual temperaments. Each and every one has his or her temperaments, some persons are slow to anger and it doesn't matter how they tease or annoys them, you never see them attempting a fight while others burns with rage over little issues that's not worth fighting for. Individual temperaments is not only the cause of siblings rivalry as parental style of upbringing is also a factor. Some parents really don't know how to equally love their kids, they always favour's one more than the other and by so doing the unfavored one begins to generate hate and anger towards the other because he feels his denying him of their parents love.

SOURCE


Growing up, I and my siblings have experienced rivalry because first we are two different people Thou from same womb we were birthed. We don't have to accepts each other's decisions all the time and no one wants to think that his or her decision is worthless this alone leads to serious disagreement and sometimes bully. You know one thing with me is that I always believe I can beat all of my siblings then as a child cause I was more robust than then so my size is always deceiving me. I remember one day my elder brother was teasing both me and the food I cooked so badly and he made a statement that really hurt me in his words he said "that's how I will go to my husband house and cook rubbish which will eventually make him throw me out of the house". I got up from where I was sitting and was ready for a fight but unfortunately I think he won the fight and that was because I was just tying wrapper and didn't want to disgrace myself else I would have teach him my latest kung fu style I watched from the movie Jackie Chan. 🤣 But one thing I so much love despite the fact I and my siblings disagree is the fact that we never use weapons or sharp objects on ourselves no matter how the case may be.


Source


But have again witnessed other siblings rivalry and I must say it was disastrous. The community before mine, two siblings went for labor work and all through the week of working they were both saving their wages. Guess what they used it for? They invested the money into this popular bet game called bet9ja for them to have a potential wining of aboutabout ₦15 million. Although the ticket was a traveling one meaning they have to wait for some weeks as the games are played on different days. These two siblings were so sure of their predictions as they kept marking the games good and when the second to the last game was played, they gave them a cash out of ₦10 million. The younger adviced the eldest they should withdraw the money and forget about the last game but the elder brother refused to listen so they allowed the last game to be played for them to have the complete money. But this time luck was not on their side as the last one cut their ticket and they loosed even the 10m. Because the younger brother could not accept the fact they lost the money him and his brother became enemies which led to a serious fight they fought their life out and people came to separate the fight but the younger brothers rage was just something else and out of that anger he picked up a knife and before you know it the knife was sitting inside his brother's stomach. He was rushed to the hospital but eventually died. Consumed with the guilt of murdered, the younger one refused to run away despite the parent advice till the police came for him and that was how this family lost two handsome men due to rivalry.

Siblings rivalry is one thing that's inevitable but it's advisable to stay calm, quite and in control of the issue so it won't get out of hand leading to death or emergency ward in the hospital.

This is my respond to the on going #Mayinleo monthly prompts for May6, Do well to check out announcement post to participate.

Thank you for your time, peace 🕊️

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now