I Should Have Stood By Him

I should Have Stood By Him

Designed With Canva

Childhood is one of the memorable periods of life. Each time I start reminiscing on some of the things I did as a child, I can't help it but laugh, almost ninety percent of the things I did has no sense in them. But those days I saw them as the wise and most intelligent things I ever did.

Childhood was sweet but I can't stop thanking God for adulthood, even though it is full of responsibilities for the Sense I have now, I think I will choose adulthood a million times over childhood.



As children, usually when we are sent on errands, we don't like going alone. Even if it's the house next door, we would like to call either our friends or siblings to accompany us. There was a time when my dad sent me to buy toothpaste for him.

I really didn't want to go but you know I can't say no. So I decided to call my younger brother who was having fun with other children to accompany me. The shop we were to get the toothpaste from was separated from our house by a main road.



While we were yet on our way my brother began throwing stones at anything he saw, I told him to stop and he stopped. I never knew he had an extra stone in his pocket when we got closer to the road, there was a pickup passing before I knew it, I heard kpasshh, the pickup glass was broken, and the driver instantly stopped, parked his car, and started running towards our direction with the boys he was carrying, I got so scared that I almost ran but if I had run, they would say it was me.

I turned to grab my brother's hand and I saw him running into our street, obviously, he threw the stone. Those days, I said I was not going to tell lies at all, I would do anything for the truth. So when the driver came and asked me where the boy I was walking with followed, out of fear and my vow to always say the truth. I showed them the direction where my brother followed.



I even went the extra mile to help them chase him, when he was caught I was like "You said you are very stubborn, today you will learn your lessons". My brother tried denying the act but as the man of truth that I was, I insisted that he threw the stone. I even told them I saw him do it.

In my mind, I was standing for the truth. They asked me to take them to our house and I did, in my little mind I was thinking they would just talk to our dad about what my brother did and probably walk away but I was disappointed when we got to our house.



They asked my father to pay for the glass, there was no amount of begging we didn't do but they refused until they were given the money when they left. Our dad scolded me but beat my brother mercilessly. I was feeling like a saint for doing that. I even used to tell people that whenever you are doing something bad, if you see me you better hide because I will surely expose you.

I should be around the age of 12 or 13 at that time. When I added more years, I began feeling bad for what I did. Instead of me to stand by my brother, I gave him up to them. It's good to tell the truth but giving out our loved ones is bad.



We are the ones they have if we turn our backs on them who would stand in for them? I am not saying that we should support our loved ways to do evil, but we should let them know we love them even if they are wrong. At least we can scold them and frown at whatever they did when we are away from the crowd.


Thanks For Reading

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
8 Comments
Ecency