Reflecting on my school days back then.

Back then in 2016 when I got admission into university I was really happy, because finally I get to be away from my family running errands, washing of plates and doing other choices, although I know that I would do those things in school but at own will without being forced to them, unknowingly to me that going to that place was completely out of my comfort zone, when I got there the first day, I was being told that they don’t allow cooking, anything like gas or stove or whatsoever, the only thing they allowed were provisions and garri because apparently garri has been saving lives since 1960, Lol..

Image source

I was so mad but I couldn’t do anything about, we had to look for a place to keep our cooking stuffs outside the school campus, then my sister and I went to the room that we were assigned to, and yes I could never forget the name of that lodge, “Jungle Lodge” .. the name wasn’t even encouraging and on getting there and seeing the room I literally wanted to cry because how will a whole me sleep in this place, the room was actually a jungle, it looked like the past student reared animals in the room, it was dark already and there was no light, then I said to myself that I had to look for an alternative. My sister and I quickly made friends with a girl that lived off campus and that was how we escaped from sleeping there that night.

The next day my sister and I called my dad and cried bitterly that night, as his last daughters he sent back my elder to come and get us an apartment, thinking my problems were solved, firstly the community didn’t have light and we didn’t have a generator, from morning to night our ears didn’t have rest from the noise of generators and loud music, the smell of indian hemp, seeing of different faces everyday, this made me so uncomfortable that sometimes my sister and I would go to the school campus to stay with our friends because they actually paid extra to get good rooms.. thing is we didn’t know this on time before going out to rent an apartment.

Image source

As time went on, we got a little bit used to the apartment, emphasis on “little” because the area where the apartment was located was filled with sunfly, so the bites gave me marks all over my body, finally in my 300l my sister and I decide to back to off campus because all our neighbors that we were comfortable with graduated, and all the other people that came to rent apartments there were known for cultism and they were also bringing in their members to come visit them everyday, so we left there and went back to school but this time we paid extra charges for a good room and it was just my sister and I but even with that sometimes the school lister’s get spoilt and there would be no light, they were cases serious robbery in school hostels, there was even a time we went for holidays and came back only to meet our rooms and properties being vandalized and to crown it all that community where the school is located is known for serving a snake (python), so I wouldn’t even be surprised if i found a python in my room.

My school life was such an experience, I’m unable to write down everything here but I actually learnt “Life is not a bed roses, as humans experiencing different parts of life actually makes us grow in ways we don’t even expect.

THANKS FOR READING🌺🌼

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center