TRUSTING THE PROCESS.

pexels-photo-1576955.jpeg

source

The year started out on a really beautiful note; last year was cool too, but it was the later part of last year that was. I began this year with a resolution that I was going to take charge of my finances. I wasn't in charge before; it was in charge of me and basically everything else. Because, frankly, there's hardly anything you can do without getting money involved. There are very few people and things not controlled by money in this world; no one keeps malice with money. I intend to be one of those soon, the shot callers and the movers and shakers of the financial world. I've recently had to revisit my priorities money-wise.

I am hardworking, and I make money, but not as much as I would have liked previously. I then made a resolution this year that I was going to control money, not otherwise. I took charge, positioned myself to get more commissioned as a full-time writer, cut down my expenses to the barest minimum, and made sure that I always fulfilled my financial obligations before they got too late and rolled into others. (It's a good trick I've learned.) I don't mind sharing a few tips for someone who might find them helpful:

1.Don't wait for your bills to get due before paying them (if you have the means).

2.Any extra income you get is not a bonus and shouldn't be used for flexing (saving it).

  1. It's never too early to save for the future.

These tips have helped me a lot as an impulsive spender; the moment I see things I like, they're going straight into my shopping cart. I used to say, "You only live once," but when you are blessed with a long life, which is the expectation of everyone, you have to rethink. I have seen old people that allegedly wasted their youth on irresponsible living, financially suffer the consequences in their old age. Not a good look, I tell you. I'm not judging, but as long as I have the breath and chance, I'll save for a soft landing and cushion for my future.

I'm not saying it's not good to have fun or "dorime" once in a while, but when life hits you, you tend to rethink your priorities. I'm still in for a fun time anytime as long as I can afford it, and the bills would get split between my friends and I or I rather stay in, drink myself to stupor and annoy my neighbors with some really loud music. I would be waiting for them to knock on my door and offer them a drink.

  1. It's good to give, but how many people gave when you needed it? (Those are the people that make it to my good list anyway.)How many people supported you when you needed it? On that note, permit me if it's against the rules, but I'd like to give a special shout out to @jjmusa2004 and @didiyilji for giving me the support I needed at a time when they didn't even know I did. @didiyilji was my coworker and didn't know me from Adam yet she introduced me to @jjmusa2004 who got me on this platform and patiently helped me navigate my way through without knowing the first thing about me, and staying calm even when I frustrated his efforts. They don't make them like those two anymore. In a world where people are constantly getting dragged or called out on social media for being bad, I say it's good to celebrate the exceptionally good people too, or, shall I say, call them out for being good? Lol.

I know it's the month of June, but my brain didn't quite connect that it's half of the year until I came across this prompt. Wasn't January just yesterday? How time flies! I haven't quite smashed all my goals, but going by what I've been through and still being able to tick off my major goals regardless, can I score myself a 100 percent? I am taking it one step at a time and I'm trusting the process of hardwork and determination that I would get there.

Never mind, as the examiner, I'm scoring myself a 10 over 10. As the adage says in Yoruba land, "a lizard that falls off a palm tree said, If no one praises it, it will praise itself." It's no easy feat. I'm that lizard, and life sure has been one tall ass palm tree. Thanks for reading.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
10 Comments