Timidity turned heroine.( Childhood days).

Hello everyone 🤗, hope our day went well,as for me I had a nice time today at work.

Source

My childhood days were sweet memories, I never lacked anything as a child,all thanks to to God and my amazing aunt, although I never had the privilege of playing outside like I read in some posts by some of my friends,I was always indoor.
But I was not deprived of my basic needs,my aunt takes my little cousin and I on a monthly shopping spree and it's always fun filled.


I lost my mom at a very tender age ,so i lived most of my better childhood live with my mom's younger sister who was an army officer,we lived in the army barracks.
My aunt is a discplinarian and she insists we stay indoors always.
My movement was like, school to the house,my house chores,then to my private lesson coaching,then back to the house.LOL.
I know someone will be thinking if I had friends as a child???
Yes I had just two female friends,we were either in each other's house,we take turns in doing that but always indoor,we gist together, carryout our house chores and do our assignment.

I am so glad to say that my childhood days helped my adulthood because I was trained to be strong,dependent, hard-working and a caring woman.
I have so much memories but these two that i will talk about today,I can never forget them in my entire life.

While growing up,my Aunt loves eating Amala (yam flour) ,beans soup and assorted meat,there was this particular woman that was very good at it,so every weekend my aunt tells me to buy it for her.
Now,this particular naughty boy will always want to pick up fight with me and me in my timidity,i will start running,i will run to the extent that the food will pour away. This continued for sometime.
On this fateful day,as usual I went to get the food, unknown to me my aunt was coming behind me,she hid somewhere watching,I got the food and coming back,this boy was coming towards me again,i was about running and behold my aunt in front of me .hehe
She asked the boy what he wanted and the boy replied that he wants a fight with me, my aunt collected the food from me,spoke in my dialect that she knows i can beat this boy,i was encouraged.
Being a southpaws child,I gathered all my strength and gave the boy two punches on his face,he fell to the ground ,I gave him the beating of his life.hahaha.
My people that was the end of that boy bullying me, he saw me the next weekend but he was ashamed of himself and I went in peace.lol.


One of the dumbest thing i ever did as a child was dipping my little cousin's head in a big bath filled with water.
I was at home alone with my little cousin,there was power failure in the whole barracks,i lit the candle ,kept it on the candlestick,i was in the kitchen and she was in the sitting room,the girl is so hairy.
How she got hair burning with fire is still a mistery to me till today.
I heard her shouting "my hair,my hair'. I ran out of the kitchen only to see her hair on fire 🔥.
I was so scared,and shaking at the same time,i didn't know what to do,... Immediately I took her to the bath that was filled with water,dipped her hair into the water,i did not even think of the consequences of my actions,all i wanted was just to prevent my little cousin from burning.
Thank God the fire went off immediately,i removed her head from the water and she started coughing so hard,i was able to calm her down and she slept off after sometime.
I told my aunt immediately she stepped into the house from work, in fact the smell of the burnt hair filled the whole house,it was so scary for me.
The next day,we took her to the hospital for proper medical attention,thank God everything was fine with her.

Getting home we had to cut her hair,she started going on low cut till she was 10 years. The incidence also made us to stop the use of candles in the house,till this moment i have not used candle again.


Growing up as a child,I never had any regrets,up till this day my kids are always indoors.

source

Technology has taken a better part of the world to the extent that there are so many intelligent things a child can do on the internet and keep themselves busy....the likes of learning coding, learning musical instruments online....so many of them.And I love it that way.


Whenever I remember that memory,I ask myself what better options would I have taken to stop the fire on my little cousin's hair????.
I will be so glad to see your suggestions in the comments section.

Thanks for reading my post.

Images are gotten from unsplash and my picture was designed from canva.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center