Tough Journey Safe Landing 2023

My journey in the year 2023 was a great one—loud but quiet as well. Though the road was rough, it turned out to be good in the end.

Economic Meltdown

The journey of 2023 started nicely until the implementation of the new government policy to suspend the spending of the old currency, which was very much in circulation, and adopting the new currency, which was scarce. This affected individuals, religious sectors, and everyone greatly. Every marketer and business person started adopting card or cash transfer for every transaction performed. Local businesses that couldn't adopt didn't make sales, and withdrawal on a thousand-note amounted to 25% to 30%. This went on for a few months and became a real hardship. It became a life game; either you join or sit back and if you sit back, you lose. Some bike men and taxi drivers started using point-of-sale machines just to make their business smoother. Thankfully, it didn't last for a very long time. It was reviewed, and the old currency was allowed once again.

Fuel Price Hike

The subsidy removal on petroleum in May led to a price hike from ₦220 to over ₦600 now. This made things difficult; needs became harder to acquire, and items that were once cheap became costly. Transportation costs became unbearable, and the cost of living reached its peak. Some small businesses folded up, while others struggled. It affected many sectors, causing people who work far away to no longer go to work daily due to the hike and scarcity. People raised alarms for a few weeks and then adapted to the situation.

Inflation was another major challenge we faced in 2023. The depreciation of the naira left an ugly mark on the country's economy, reducing purchasing power and leading to a lower standard of living. People suffered the effects of this, making it very difficult to maintain a regular lifestyle.

Despite all that happened in the year 2023, I'm thankful for several things. Firstly, survival – despite all the challenges, I came out victorious. Though not everything I had planned or expected happened, I was able to achieve some tangible things. I made new friends, the good ones, and started a positive initiative that impacted lives, I came across many great people in 2023, and one of them introduced me to this amazing platform. I've also met great people here who have positively impacted my life.

2023 ended on a good note. I spent the last day, which was New Year's Eve, among my people in my church. During the course of the service, I reflected on all that happened throughout the year—the successes, the failures, those who helped me, those who didn't, those who wanted to help but couldn't, those who could help but didn't, those who offended me, and those who hurt me. I decided to let go of everything and leave it in 2023 to start 2024 with positive energy. All that I've learned during the previous year will serve as a shining light to guide my path this year.

Thanks For Reading
Happy New Year

Image is mine

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center