Serving with a smile(But not really)

Hello fam! It’s me again 😁🤎

I hope everyone never gets tired of reading my posts because I like the way this space makes me able to air my thoughts and feelings freely 😄 its a great feeling 🥺.

I’m really starting to enjoy this platform a lot, what, with having the freedom to express my self and feel good while doing it. I’m starting to enjoy it here soo much that any little time I get even while at work I feel soo eager to get on here and let my self and my mind free 😁

Alright sooo lets get talking people. How do I start though? 🤔😁.

Soooo I’m not exactly working, like really working yet, cause as I said in my introductory post, I’m still undergoing my NYSC program. So more or less I’m not a full staff at the hotel I’m serving in.

Honestly, initially I was given a teaching job for my sevice year, but, because of my stage fright, the thought alone of teaching teenage students literally freaked me out soo bad. I then decided to find somewhere else I could run my programe. Soo I got to the hotel and luckily for me I was accepted there, or so I thought 🥺(that it was luck on my side).

In hindsight, maybe i should have taken the teaching job, because, this hotel work is definitely not for me 😫. Likee it’s more stressful than I ever imagined and another thing I have noticed about the place is they are not even appreciative of their staffs 😔.

The staffs do their best in the work given to them without even complaining and yet any little mistake they would want to make it a very big deal.

When you take your time to observe the senior staffs here then you can get what I’m trying to say. It’s like the power of being a senior staff just gets to their head and makes them act inconsiderate sometimes.

When I first started serving here( you notice how I don’t even want to call it working?), because it doesn’t even feel like thats what I’m doing. Instead it just feels like I’m slaving my self over here. Imagine me as a youth corper serving in a well known hotel like this in Lagos and I’m going to the hotel almost everyday except for my clearance and cds days and yet at the end of the day they just end up giving me “chicken change” as salary 😤.

If you know how luch im being paid you’d want to cry for me 🥺🥹, I’m not even going to hide it. What they are giving me is thirteen thousand (13000 naira).

When I first started, I was given a particular kind of work that I could just easily do and even be done before 2 in the afternoon, only for me to be moved to another work that doesn’t even give me time to rest 😫. Like the work I was moved to involves me running around to get people’s signature and inputing things bought for the hotel in the system. With all this work I’m trying to juggle around, they don’t even try to put themselves in my shoes, they only just complain about the ones I don’t get to do.

I have literally cried my eyes out in this hotel beacuse of the kind of people who work here 😩 like they just get on your nerves sooo much.

The RULES!!!!

Lord!!, don’t even get me started on these rules and regulations they have. Likeeee, it’s sooo much “ you can’t do this, you can’t do that, you can’t wear this or that, you are not even allowed to keep your nails if they are long”. You can actually get depressed from here. I can’t even wait for my service year to be over soo I can just stop coming. I know there are not many job opportunities in Nigeria with the sate of the economy, but, I would rather not be working than work in a place where I feel like a tiger in a cage for circus shows 😰.

There are also some senior staffs who are quite understanding, but the majority are sooo not. These majority are the type who, when the general manager puts the heat on them, they just come back to pass it on to you like it’s your fault.

My direct supervisor here falls under this category because he has done it a lot of times and it always ends up feeling like I’m being attacked from every corner 😒🥺.

Then, the head of the department literally told me to my face one morning, that, if I don’t do a particular work I don’t usually have the time to do on the computer, she’d transfer me to another department and I was shell shocked at how she could just utter words like that without even trying to understand that I’m already doing a lot in this position that I might not be able to do everything everyday.

I think in this situation I can actually say I’ve worked under both a good and bad boss, but in all honesty even if i was to be retained here after my service year, I’d definitely not accept it, because, I mean, it’s my peace of mind over any other thing right now.

I’m honestly super happy I was introduced to this space by my childhood besties @vickiee and @zitalove. It feels like a space where I can easily vent and free whatever is weighing on my mind, and it’s definitely a good feeling ☺️😊

Thank you for taking time out of your busy schedule to read “my thoughts” 😁.

I hope you enjoy reading 🤎🥰

I’ll see you lovely people in my next blog 😁(I’m sure you can tell how much I like the sound of “my blog) 😊😄. I’m already feeling like a blogger 💪🏾🤎🥹😊

All images are mine

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center