TRADICIONES IMPORTADAS / IMPORTED TRADITIONS





Hola Hivers y amigos de la comunidad Catarsis donde hoy hago mi debut... En primer lugar quiero desearles un feliz año nuevo.

Hello Hivers and friends of the Catarsis community where I make my debut today.... First of all I want to wish you a happy new year.





A pesar de los años a mi me siguen apasionando por sobre todas las cosas; la música y la poesía al igual que cuando era joven. Sobre todo en el acto de la creación artística, ese momento único e inigualable en que puedo, en soledad, expresar un sentimiento lírico musical y tornearlo a mi manera. Y así gritar a los cuatro vientos lo que me da la real gana y para colmo de placeres y gracias al universo; poder hacerlo de una manera artística, auténtica y poética, aunque por vivir acá tenga que camuflarlo un poco...o sea, es algo así como cantar entre líneas 😁😆😀!!!!!

Despite the years, I am still passionate about music and poetry, just as I was when I was young. Especially in the act of artistic creation, that unique and incomparable moment when I can, in solitude, express a musical lyrical feeling and turn it into my own way. And so I can shout to the four winds what I really want and to top it all off and thanks to the universe; to be able to do it in an artistic, authentic and poetic way, although living here I have to camouflage it a little...I mean, it is something like singing between the lines 😁😆😀!!!!!

Y es que con la Meditación Trascendental (Camino de crecimiento espiritual que practico desde hace 5 años) he ido cambiando internamente junto a mis preferencias, maneras de ver y encarar las cosas. Ahora siento como​ si hubiera estado dormido toda mi vida y despertara de repente con una visión diferente de todo y por ende, de todos. O para no absolutizar; bastante diferente de la inmensa mayoría imperante 😎.

With the Transcendental Meditation (spiritual growth path that I have been practicing for 5 years) I have been changing internally along with my preferences, ways of seeing and approaching things. Now I feel as if I had been asleep all my life and suddenly woke up with a different vision of everything and therefore, of everyone. Or not to absolutize; quite different from the vast prevailing majority 😎.

Por ejemplo: mi percepción actual sobre el deporte. Específicamente el Baseball, que practiqué y disfruté como buen cubano que soy en cada esquina de mi niñez y del que llegue a ser un fanático total. Es... que ya no me emociona y por eso hace mucho tiempo que no lo sigo, y no sólo porque haya dejado de ser un espectáculo en Cuba y los juegos se celebren en unos estadios vacíos que más parecen patéticos cementerios. No es sólo por eso. Incluso es precisamente ese añorado "Espectáculo" lo que más me aburre y desagrada, el sentirme manipulado por una frivolidad que no me representa en nada y que fue importada e impuesta como tradición desde la época de los Mambises (la guerra contra el colonialismo Español) por razones, más "patrióticas" y políticas que meramente deportivas y altruistas.

For example: my current perception of sports. Specifically Baseball, which I practiced and enjoyed as a good Cuban that I am in every corner of my childhood and of which I became a total fan. It's... it no longer excites me and that's why I haven't followed it for a long time and not only because it has ceased to be a spectacle in Cuba and the games are held in empty stadiums that look more like pathetic cemeteries. It is not only because of that. It is precisely that longed-for "Spectacle" that bores and disgusts me the most, the feeling of being manipulated by a frivolity that does not represent me at all and that was imported and imposed as a tradition since the time of the Mambises (the war against Spanish colonialism) for reasons that are more "patriotic" and political than merely sporting and altruistic.

Por otra parte, les cuento que mi familia materna fue de inmigrantes campesinos de origen canario que abandonaron su aldea como tantos otros, huyendo de la miseria y con la esperanza de hacer fortuna en América. Llegaron a la parte central de Cuba con no mucho más que sus sueños, costumbres y tradiciones. Una parte muy importante de estas tradiciones que traían impregnadas en su sangre fué la cría de "Gallos Finos" o gallos de pelea. Esa práctica se convirtió rápidamente en una adicción desmedida entre los campesinos a lo largo y ancho de todo el país.

On the other hand, I tell you that my maternal family were peasant immigrants of Canary Island origin who left their village like so many others, fleeing misery and hoping to make their fortune in America. They arrived in the central part of Cuba with not much more than their dreams, customs and traditions. A very important part of these traditions that they brought impregnated in their blood was the breeding of "Gallos Finos" or fighting cocks. This practice quickly became a rampant addiction among peasants throughout the country.

Mi abuelo y sus hermanos prosperaron con los años como arrendatarios por su laboriosidad y austeridad sin límites. Y fueron adquiriendo de a poco las mejores tierras de la zona, a la par de una fama muy bien ganada en la cría y manipulación de los gallos finos.

My grandfather and his brothers prospered over the years as tenant farmers due to their hard work and unlimited austerity. And they gradually acquired the best land in the area, along with a well-earned reputation in the breeding and handling of fine roosters.

Yo recuerdo siendo niño, cuando íbamos a la finca en vacaciones desde La Habana, que el principal entretenimiento de aquellos hombres era hablar de gallos. Los cruces entre las diversas razas, las peleas, las técnicas de cría, el arte de poner las espuelas... en fin todo gira alrededor de "Las peleas de Gallos". Ni la severa prohibición que se implantó durante varias décadas en contra de las peleas evitó que lo hicieran a escondidas y transmitieran esos conocimientos de padres a hijos, era como un secreto a voces, algo irreversible que cada día perdura con mayor pasión y fuerza.

I remember as a child, when we went to the farm on vacation from Havana, that the main entertainment of those men was talking about roosters. The crosses between the different breeds, the fights, the breeding techniques, the art of putting the spurs... in short, everything revolved around "cockfighting". Not even the severe prohibition that was implemented for several decades against the fights prevented them from doing it on the sly and transmitting this knowledge from parents to children, it was like an open secret, something irreversible that every day endures with greater passion and strength.

Yo, hace más de veinte años que no voy a la zona de mis parientes ni pienso hacerlo, mi posición al respecto es bien simple y clara: ES MALTRATO ANIMAL. al igual que las peleas y venta indiscriminada de perros de raza entre otros tantos abusos que también repudio. Así son las cosas con estas tradiciones importadas. Yo por lo pronto voy a seguir meditando, creciendo y aprendiendo... y después les cuento mis impresiones.

I have not been going to my relatives' area for more than twenty years, nor do I plan to do so. My position on this matter is very simple and clear: IT IS ANIMAL MISTREATMENT, just like the indiscriminate fighting and sale of purebred dogs, among many other abuses that I also repudiate. That is the way things are with these imported traditions. I for one will continue meditating, growing and learning... and then I will tell you my impressions.

A ustedes Hivers, muchas gracias por su tiempo de lectura y como siempre les envío un abrazo y muchas bendiciones desde La Habana.

To you Hivers, thank you very much for your reading time and as always I send you a hug and many blessings from Havana.





La imágen utilizada es de mi propiedad.

The image used is my property.



My native language is Spanish, for the English translation I used Deepl.com in its free version.


H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center