It's Triggers' Season |EN/ES|

b098eaa84067028e0293e09e6b8adbe6.jpg

source


It's been two months since I lost my beloved mommy. Each week feels a part of a phase that rapidly changes, and demands me to adapt. It is triggers' season now. While I walk, while I hear, while I smell and see, all are triggers to me. It hursts like a bullet, and like a bullet passing fast through your body, it lasts just a few seconds. Oh, those seconds are hurtful. Sometimes, the triggers of the day are few; other times, they appear every hour. The thing is, when we feel pain, everything in us tell us to protect ourselves from it. We are designed to cut off the source of our pain as fast as possible to terminate the suffering. Then, a problem presents; my heart debates whether I should avoid this pain and protect myself from it, or feel it and make it present as a sign of respect, remembrance, and love for who I lost.

Lately, triggers are in tv shows and movies. Whenever I see death I go directly to my past experience. There is always someway to connect that fictional pain to my real one. It is the same when I contemplate disease. Today most of my patients reminded me the fight and struggle for my mother's health. A female patient the same age as hers came by, and I found something strange in her. My mind immediately worried like crazy thinking it could be cancer. It was just a natural stain. Other patient had my mother's name, and I know her for so long she called me family. That was tough, and I had to change the subject quickly. Thanks I give for medical masks that cover our faces.

I don't know if the presence of this triggers' phase is a sign I should be grieving more. Maybe it implies I need closure. Perhaps it is just part of the road, and I have to deal triggers for a long time. Whichever the case, my eyes go wet every single time. My voice cuts off as if my breath stops flowing. A minuscules pause appears full of silence that seems to steal time; a time gap I am trapped in to feel the bullet passing through my heart. The gap closes, I am suddenly free, I can talk again, an it is like nothing happened.

My beautiful mind, my noble heart, I know you want to protect me, but we cannot cover the sun with one finger. The sadness is there; the grieve is present. Whatever it is that needs to come out, let it flow. Maybe then, it won't be dozens of triggers per day. Perhaps we will only have two or three that will begin with pain, and maybe end with a smile; a smile that comes for remembering the special woman by my side since I was born with all her lessons, jokes, anecdotes, advices, critiques, foolishness, bossiness, magnetism, foresight, and love.

As I once wrote:

"cry with me Oh dear skys
Help me cry this pain inside...
Let me hide my tears with yours
help me cry it all...
And when my rain be all out
Out of my clouds of sorrow
Bless me with the promise
a bridge of light in heaven
For holding grieve in place
So this rain won’t last forever."



Han pasado dos meses desde que perdí a mi amada mami. Cada semana se siente parte de una fase que cambia rápidamente y exige que me adapte. Ahora es la temporada de los disparadores. Mientras camino, mientras escucho, mientras huelo y veo, todo son disparadores para mí. Duele como una bala, y como una bala que pasa rápido a través de tu cuerpo, dura solo unos segundos. Oh, esos segundos son dolorosos. A veces, los detonantes del día son pocos; otras veces, aparecen cada hora. Es que, cuando sentimos dolor, todo en nosotros nos dice que nos protejamos de él. Estamos diseñados para cortar la fuente de nuestro dolor lo más rápido posible para terminar con el sufrimiento. Entonces, se presenta un problema; mi corazón se debate si debo evitar este dolor y protegerme de él, o sentirlo y hacerlo presente como una señal de respeto, recuerdo y amor por quien perdí.

Últimamente, los disparadores están en programas de televisión y películas. Cada vez que veo la muerte voy directamente a mi experiencia pasada. Siempre hay alguna forma de conectar ese dolor ficticio con el mío real. Es lo mismo cuando contemplo la enfermedad. Hoy la mayoría de mis pacientes me recordaron la lucha y la lucha por la salud de mi madre. Pasó una paciente de la misma edad que ella y encontré algo extraño en ella. Mi mente inmediatamente se preocupó como loca pensando que podría ser cáncer. Era solo una mancha natural. Otro paciente tenía el nombre de mi madre, y la conozco desde hace tanto tiempo que me llamó familia. Eso fue difícil, y tuve que cambiar de tema rápidamente. Gracias doy por las máscaras médicas que cubren nuestras caras.

No sé si la presencia de esta fase desencadenante es una señal de que debería estar más afligido. Tal vez implica que necesito un cierre. Quizás es solo parte del camino, y tengo que lidiar con los factores desencadenantes durante mucho tiempo. Cualquiera que sea el caso, mis ojos se humedecen cada vez. Mi voz se corta como si mi respiración dejara de fluir. Aparece una minúscula pausa llena de silencio que parece robar tiempo; un intervalo de tiempo en el que estoy atrapado para sentir la bala atravesar mi corazón. La brecha se cierra, de repente estoy libre, puedo hablar de nuevo, y es como si nada hubiera pasado.

Mi mente hermosa, mi noble corazón, sé que quieren protegerme, pero no podemos tapar el sol con un dedo. La tristeza está ahí; el duelo está presente. Sea lo que sea que necesite salir, déjalo fluir. Tal vez entonces, no serán docenas de disparadores por día. Tal vez solo tengamos dos o tres que comiencen con dolor y tal vez terminen con una sonrisa; una sonrisa que viene por recordar a la mujer especial a mi lado desde que nací con todas sus lecciones, bromas, anécdotas, consejos, críticas, tonterías, mandoneo, magnetismo, vision y amor.

Como una vez escribí:

"Lloren conmigo Oh queridos cielos
Ayúdenme a llorar este dolor dentro...
Déjenme esconder mis lágrimas con las suyas
ayúdame a llorarlo todo...
Y cuando mi lluvia salga toda
fuera de mis nubes de dolor
Bendíganme con la promesa
un puente de luz en el cielo
Para mantener el duelo contenido
y que esta lluvia no sea eterna".

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center