MY NEW SUNSCREEN: Nivea Shine Control (EN/ES)

20230307_234926_0000.png

Lee en español AQUI


Hello, friends of Skin and Body Care!


It's been a while since I've stopped by here, and that's because even though I have a lot of new products, I like to try them out for a while (at least two weeks)before giving them a review.

IMG_20230205_230553.png

Today I'm going to tell you about a sunscreen. I'm ashamed to say it, but I had never used a sunscreen and I didn't take care of my skin at all. I used to wash my face with the same soap I use for bathing and despite living in a hot place with lots of sun, I didn't use sunscreen. Terrible, I know.

For a few months now I have wanted to change this and have been reading a lot and watching videos about facial care.

My mission was to find a sunscreen that would not leave my face greasy as a pastry, since my skin is very oily, and that would not leave my skin white as gasparin.

I'm not lying to you, in Venezuela this is complicated because the best sunscreens are super expensive.

Albani separator.png

I saw a lot of sunscreen reviews on the farmatodo app and there was always someone who said it didn't do well on their oily skin, which put me on alert.

I considered the Zoah sunscreen, but I wasn't confident that it didn't list the protection factor it offered, how do I know if it's really protecting me, however I've heard a lot of good things about that sunscreen.

I also heard about the Living sunscreen, but there are a lot of differing opinions where it was predominantly that it leaves your face white and some that it was terrible for oily skin. So I discarded that option.

There were two that caught my attention because it was UltraSkin brand gel, and another brand Umbrella. The Umbrella one was about $20, and the Ultraskin one was about $10. The contents were low, I think 60 grams.

In the end I chose the Nivea Shine Control sunscreen. I think out of confidence in the brand. It's nivea, what could go wrong? 😅

So I will tell you about my journey during these 2 weeks using this sunscreen.

First I will tell you a little about its characteristics.

Separador Albani.png

1678212275058-01-modified.png

It is a sunscreen especially for the face, has a protection factor of 50 SPF and promises a mattifying effect, without a greasy feeling, compatible with the eye contour. Oh, and it is also environmentally friendly. It contains 50 ml. Yes, it brings a little bit 😅

Now, what has been my experience?

IMG_20230217_120007.jpg
Photos of that day

The first day of use, it was a bit chaotic, because I got it in my eyes and it burned like hell. That day I had to go outside and I couldn't keep my eyes open without tearing. I sweated quite a bit because I walked a lot and I'm a very sweaty person myself. But when I finally sat down and stopped sweating I could tell that I did have that matte effect. My skin felt dry and not greasy at all. Smooth even. So, if you use it, be careful not to get it in your eyes.

I should clarify that I always moisturize my skin and do my skincare before applying it, and one day I felt lumps after application and I found it strange because the first time I used it I didn't feel any lumps. I also felt my face super oily and didn't feel the matte effect at all. I was the cupcake itself. You could fry ripe banana on my face 😅.

After trial and error, I knew what had happened.

Don't go making fun of me 😅 But it turns out I wasn't washing my face properly. My face wasn't totally clean and when I applied the sunscreen it was lifting like dirt. But why wasn't it clean if I used my facial cleanser? I discovered that when I use sunscreen, to remove it I have to double cleanse. That is, makeup remover and then cleanser or soap.

When I started doing that I noticed that the sunscreen felt lighter on my skin. I just needed a good cleansing. So yes, it has matte effect it promises, but in my case, not so much. I'll explain why.

I live in a very hot place, and every time I go out I feel like I'm melting from the intensity of the sun. The sunscreen makes my face glow while it doesn't dry, but when it dries it leaves it matte. The problem is that if I get too hot it takes a while to dry. And that's the dilemma.

But when I'm in Caracas, the weather is cooler and this sunscreen works wonders for me. Because I walk fresh and matte in the streets. Even with makeup, because yes, it's compatible with makeup. It doesn't leave whitecast or white face like gasparin and the truth is that it blends fast.

IMG_20230304_104556.jpg

I had just applied it

IMG_20230226_130902.jpg

It was already dry and minutes before I had done a touch-up.

Separador Albani.png

So, my conclusion is that it is a good protector. I love it when I'm in Caracas and I use it but in my hellish little town it doesn't help me much.

I'm going to give it a 7/10. Because it also comes with little product and it cost me $9. It doesn't do much.

I would like to try another one, when I run out of this nivea one I will give the Ultraskin sunscreen in gel a try. I'd love to try the Eucerin Dry Touch, but it's like $50 here 😭

That's all for today. Thank you so much for reading my experience.

If you know of any sunscreens that are as good as eucerin but don't cost $50, I'd be happy.


Credits
The cover was made in Canva
All the photos in this post are my property
Banner, dividers and all my visual identity made by the best @pentaghast

BANNER HIVE albani.png

Español

20230307_235226_0000.png


¡Hola, amigos de Skin and Body Care!


Hace un tiempo que no me pasaba por aquí, y es que a pesar de que tengo muchos productos nuevos, me gusta probarlos por un tiempo (al menos dos semanas)antes de hacerles una reseña.

IMG_20230205_230553.png

Hoy les hablaré de un protector solar. Me da vergüenza decirlo, pero yo nunca había usado un protector solar y tampoco cuidaba para nada mi piel. Me lavaba la cara con el mismo jabón que uso para bañarme y a pesar de vivir en un sitio caluroso y con mucho sol no usaba protección. Terrible, lo sé.

Desde hace unos meses he querido cambiar esto y he estado leyendo mucho y viendo videos sobre cuidados faciales.

Mi misión era encontrar un protector solar que no me dejara la cara grasosa como un pastelito, ya que mi piel es muy grasa, y que tampoco me dejara la piel blanca como gasparin.

No les miento, en Venezuela esto es complicado porque los mejores bloqueadores son super costosos.

Separador Albani.png

Vi muchas reseñas de bloqueadores en la app de farmatodo y siempre había alguien que decía que no le hacía bien a su piel grasa, lo que me ponía alerta.

Consideré la pantalla solar de Zoah, pero no me dio confianza que no indicara el factor de protección que ofrecía, ¿Cómo saber si realmente me está protegiendo? sin embargo he oído muchas cosas buenas de ese bloqueador.

También escuché del protector solar Living, pero hay muchas opiniones divergentes en donde predominaba que te deja la cara blanca y algunos que era terrible para pieles grasas. Así que descarté esa opción.

Hubo dos que me llamaron la atención porque era en gel de la marca UltraSkin, y otro de la marca Umbrella. El de umbrella costaba como $20, y el de Ultraskin aproximadamente $10. Su contenido era poco, creo que 60 gr.

Al final elegí el protector solar Nivea Control de Brillos. Creo que por confianza en la marca. Es nivea, ¿Qué podría salir mal? 😅

Así que les contaré mi travesía durante estas 2 semanas usando este protector.

Primero les hablaré un poco de sus características.

Separador Albani.png

1678212275058-01-modified.png

Es un protector solar especialmente para la cara, tiene un factor de protección de 50 FPS y promete un efecto matificante, sin sensación grasosa, compatible con el contorno de ojos. Ah, y también es amigable con el medio ambiente. Su contenido es de 50ml. Sí, trae poquito 😅

Ahora, ¿Cuál ha sido mi experiencia?

IMG_20230217_120007.jpg
Fotos de ese día

El primer día de uso, fue un poco caótico, porque me cayó en los ojos y me ardió un mundo. Ese día tuve que salir a la calle y no podía mantener los ojos abiertos sin que me lloraran. Sudé bastante porque caminé mucho y de por sí, yo soy una persona que suda mucho. Pero cuando finalmente me senté y dejé de sudar pude notar que sí tenía ese efecto mate. Sentía la piel sequita y para nada grasosa. Incluso suave. Entonces, sí lo usan, tengan cuidado para que no les caiga en los ojos.

Debo aclarar que siempre hidrato la piel y hago mi skincare antes de aplicarlo, y un día sentí grumos luego de la aplicación y me pareció extraño porque la primera vez que lo usé no sentí ningún grumito. También sentía la cara super grasosa y no sentía para nada el efecto mate. Yo era el propio pastelito. Se podría freír platano maduro en mi cara 😅

Luego de ensayo y error, supe que había pasado.

No se vayan a burlar de mí 😅 Pero resulta que no me estaba lavando bien la cara. Mi cara no quedaba totalmente limpia y al aplicar el protector se levantaba como la suciedad. ¿Pero por qué no quedaba limpia si usaba mi limpiador facial? Descubrí que cuando uso protector solar, para retirarlo debo hacerme la doble limpieza. Es decir, desmaquillante y luego limpiador o jabón.

Cuando empecé a hacer eso noté que el protector solar se sentía más ligero en mi piel. Solo necesitaba una buena limpieza. Así que sí, tiene efecto mate que promete, pero en mi caso, no tanto. Les explico porqué.

Yo vivo en un sitio muy caluroso, y cada vez que salgo siento que me derrito por lo intensidad del sol. El protector solar mientras no se seca hace que mi cara brille, pero al secarse la deja mate. El problema es que si tengo mucho calor tarda un poco en secarse. Y ese es el dilema.

Pero cuando estoy en caracas, el clima es más fresco y este protector me funciona de maravilla. Porque ando fresca y mate por las calles. Incluso teniendo maquillaje, porque sí, es compatible con el maquillaje. No deja Whitecast o la cara blanca como gasparin y la verdad se difumina rápido.

IMG_20230304_104556.jpg

Me lo acababa de aplicar

IMG_20230226_130902.jpg

Ya estaba seco y minutos antes había hecho un retoque

Separador Albani.png

Entonces, mi conclusión es que, es un buen protector. Me encanta cuando estoy en Caracas y lo uso pero en mi pueblito infernal no me ayuda mucho.

Le voy a dar un 7/10. Porque también trae poco producto y me costó $9. No rinde mucho.

Me gustaría probar con otro, cuando se me termine este de nivea le daré la oportunidad al protector solar de Ultraskin que es en gel. Amaría probar el de Eucerin Toque Seco, pero acá cuesta como 50 dólares 😭

Esto ha sido todo por hoy. Muchas gracias por leer mi experiencia.

Si conocen de algún protector solar que sea tan bueno como el eucerin pero que no cueste $50, yo sería feliz.


Créditos
La portada la hice en Canva
Todas las fotos de esta publicación son de mi propiedad
Banner, separadores y toda mi identidad visual hecha por el mejor @pentaghast

BANNER HIVE albani.png

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
33 Comments