Greetings From the Morning Sky and Some Thoughts About the New Year

Hi there, wholesome reader! Happy new year! 🥳

For the past days, I've been taking a lot of pictures of the sky. I used to do this since forever but, apparently, my busyness at work has ceased me from doing so. As the holiday season happened, I found numerous opportunities to take photos of the sky, especially the morning skies.

20231220_065819.jpg

20231220_071411.jpg

20231220_071249.jpg

20231220_071416.jpg

I classify myself as a morning person, as mornings are beautiful reminders of how one can start all over again. The gradual spreading of colors from darkness to yellow and orange hues warms my heart and somehow gives me hope for the day. This is the reason I enjoy gazing at sunrises. During trips, especially on beach trips, I always try my best to wake up early and watch the sun wake up with its magical splendor.

20231220_071420.jpg

20231220_071530.jpg

20231220_071539.jpg

Similar to mornings, the first few days of the year symbolize hope for a prosperous and successful year ahead. It is the perfect time to ponder on what the previous year has presented us and how we can use them as helpful stepping stones for the coming days.

The year 2023 was, honestly, not the best year for me. I faced a lot of struggles thrown straight to my face, ached too many times for the wrong people and for the wrong reasons. Nonetheless, there were still parts of the year I found beautiful that somehow made up for the unpleasant experiences.

August 2023 was the turning point of my year. After going through the worst heartbreak in the past month, August was my ”sweet morning” – I switched jobs which I expected to be way better than my previous one; I rented my own place to live in the city and had the chance to feel the kind of restarting I needed that time; and I felt my heart starting to heal from the tragic events it went through in early July. It was also during this time that I was able to write something beautiful. Allow me to share a piece of my mind:

One important lesson that really hit me last year was the realization that things actually happen the way they should happen and at the exact moment they happened. Nothing is too late or too early as everything is at its own timeline; we just got to trust the timing of things.

Another realization I had was that a lot of things could really happen in a year. As I looked back, I wasn't expecting how some of the events I have recalled actually happened last year as they felt so long ago already. And while reminiscing, I realized how much I've grown in a span of one year. It was an amazing moment of cognizance.

It was with a grateful heart that I welcomed the new year 2024, carrying with me the wisdom I gained from the past year's set of experiences.

How about you? What are some of your significant realizations you'd carry on to the new year?


Thank you for reading my post up to this point. I hope you have a great time ahead!

I'll take delight in writing for you again soon.

Love,
Sam ♡


All photos in this post are owned by me, unless stated otherwise.


20231127_113033.jpg

Hello, in case you have not read my intro post, my name is Samantha. You may call me Sam for short. I am from Cebu, a beautiful island in the Philippines. I created this space in an attempt to put all the good things in one place, thus, my blog name @wholesamdiaries.

If you wish to show appreciation; an upvote, comment, reblog and/or follow is the way! Thank you once again and see you around! ♡


H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now