A Tree In The Cold!



I often feel that thoughtfulness is fast fading, like that tree standing alone in the chilling cold, its once vibrant leaves gradually withering away. It was once a sturdy evergreen tree called thoughtfulness, it was once beautifully rooted in the warmth of human connection, but times have changed, technology has almost taken the place of real humans, the hustle and bustle of our daily routines has led us to live lives of hurried routines and thoughtless habits.

When I was younger, we were taught empathy, we were taught to feel the pain of others as if it was our own pain, and to help in any way we could to bring succour. We were taught to develop conditions favourable to each other's thriving. We were taught to practice humanity big time!
But things are different now. Living in a world where it's always about 'me, me, me', reveals the attitude that is prevalent in our society today. And that attitude is what I term the 'Me Syndrome' because it perfectly captures the mindset where people prioritize their own needs and desires to the extent of leaving little or no room, for the genuine care and consideration of others.
Therefore thoughtfulness wanes.

The best use of life is to spend it for something that outlasts it.- William James.

Humanity is all about giving. Thoughtfulness should be intentional. It is simple, it is giving just a little of ourselves to others, it doesn’t always have to require a bunch of work or money but it takes a listening ear and most importantly a desire to show someone love.

And experience pure joy in return.

I walked into Saint Job's Orphanage Home and came out, changed forever, life became more meaningful when I encountered these less privileged ones, Angels I call them. In the little time spent at the orphanage, I discovered lessons that would last me a lifetime.

Walking into such a space, I was confronted with the innocence of children who were labelled 'unwanted', they were beautiful and pure, children who found themselves there without planning for it, children whose smiles are given freely, yet craving, behind those smiles, a deep need for connection and love.

People grow when they are loved and wilt, from the lack of it. If you want to help someone heal, show them, unconditional love.

My visit also stirred in me feelings of helplessness, knowing that there’s only so much one person can do in the face of such great need.



I just couldn't keep the tears in, I showed deep emotion and let the tears trickle freely, as they prayed for me.
Why would I keep so much to myself when the need is so much out there?
There and then, I made a silent vow that I would never spend more than is necessary, on my own needs and desires, that I would always return, because these Angels have left their mark in my heart, and have changed the way I think, forever.

And I do believe that even as thoughtfulness appears to be dying, it is not beyond revival. Like that lone tree enduring the cold, it holds the potential to bloom again with the warmth of Spring.

It's only about an hour
Since the tree was out in the cold
Nay, not just since an hour
It seems as eternity
...

If warmth is given
And love
It will bloom again
...
For sure

A short poem by me.



Me and my Angels (photo taken from my gallery).

We are the children of the King of Heaven, so it is our duty to spread the good love of that kingdom.


Thumbnail

2nd image


This is a response to the post by @thoughtfuldailypost

Based upon the mission statement of the Inner Blocks Community. In what ways are you as a person, striving to create thoughtfulness? Share your "personal" story with us!


Thank you so much for reading

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center