Change

56659_Glitch.jpg

Many times music has saved my life or at least my sanity.

The combination of instrument and lyrics just has a power to express profound meaning and connect with our deep experiences in ways that other mediums can't quite match. And don't get me started on the power of a well made music video.

There are many songs that have touched, guided and taught me through the years. Change by Blind Melon is one of those that is a masterpiece from beginning to end.

It starts with a line that elegantly expresses the struggle...

"I don't feel the sun's comin' out today..."

And goes on to paint a beautiful picture of melancholy, emphasized by the powerful vocal delivery. It is especially poignant knowing of the vocalist Shannon Hoon's lifelong struggles with depression and addiction that ended in accidental overdose at the age of 28.

The inspiring part is how the song turns it around, acknowledging the struggle but also encouraging us to overcome it.

"Keep on dreamin' boy, 'cause when you stop dreamin' it's time to die"

And ending with the simple and stoic statement.

"When life is hard, you have to change."

Though I would not say that I have had a bad life, it certainly could have been much worse, but I have had struggles both internally and externally.

I credit music with contributing to my resilience, being there when I needed it and providing a well of wisdom that I drink from as often as possible.

"When life is hard, you have to change."

Photograph by Wout Vanacker from Unsplash; Modified by @schemataobscura using GlitchLab

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center