I am Grateful for Another Year

June 27, 2024

"Gratitude is the healthiest of all human emotions. The more you express gratitude for what you have, the more likely you will have even more to express gratitude for."

  • Zig Ziglar

Yesterday, June 26, I completed another year on this earth. Yup, that's plus one to my age again.

Although I went through a lot of challenges and problems last year, there are still lots of things to be grateful for.

Good Health

First and foremost, I am grateful that despite my age, I am still in great health. I am already in my golden years, but the school doctor commented that I am in better condition than my younger colleagues.

My family are all in good health too. Our kids may have had flu once or twice but they were in good health.

Full-Time Job and Tuition Fee Discounts

Since the pandemic, I have grown tired of freelancing. My online income also dropped drastically. For a few years, I was teaching part-time. But since my kids are going to school, I need some extra income or at least get some discount for their education. I wasn't planning to work full-time, but I proposed to do some extra work aside from teaching in exchange for my kids' tuition. The Administrators counter-offered that I work full-time as a teacher and laboratory-in-charge in exchange for a 100% discount on my eldest son and another 50% discount for my second son on their tuition fees. I just have to pay the miscellaneous fees. Such privileges were only given to full-time employees who had been working in the school for at least three years.

Although, my eldest son preferred to stay in the public school where my wife was. This coming school year though, they will both go to a private school where I work.

With Honors

I'm also grateful and proud to say that both of them finished the school year with honors. To be precise, the eldest (in the public school) finished with Honors, and my youngest finished with High Honors.

Return to Boracay

After more than I decade, I was able to step foot on Boracay once again. It's the first time I got there since the former President ordered an island-wide clean-up on all beachfront. The clean-up included clearing the beachfront of fixed structures made by different resorts. I will write about my experience there soon.

Free Swimming Clinic

I long wanted to enroll the kids in swimming lessons. It would have cost me PHP 7000.00 or about $120.00. Fortunately, the school's family council offered this free Summer Sports Clinic, including swimming. That's a big savings on my part.

Moreover, the closing ceremony was more than I expected. They held a mini-competition where my eldest son won three medals and my youngest son won two. I wrote about it but haven't uploaded it yet.

Looking Forward for a More Fruitful Year

Yeah, despite all the challenges, I have a lot to be grateful for. I'm looking for a more fruitful year, and hopefully, some of my dreams will come true this year.

Thanks for Reading

Post No. 2024-44
Date Posted: June 27, 2024.
All images are mine unless otherwise indicated.
Cover image: Edited using Canva.
Check me out on other platforms. linktr.ee/jlinitiatives

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now