The role of gratitude in mental well being

Hi.

I have been not feeling well. I was sick because Pakistan is going through a heatwave again. Can you imagine being all sweaty at the end of September?

Anyways, I would like to share a thought with you all. It is about how we can improve our mental well being. I am a doctor and I come across numerous patients who have mental health issues and they do not even know about it. This shows how neglected the mental health is.


I would like to add that mental health and well being can be improved in so many ways. One of the major things is gratitude. When we express gratitude for the things that we have, we feel a rush of positive emotions. I have personally experienced it. It leads to joy, enthusiasm and compassion. It also reduces negative emotions like stress and anxiety.


Gratitude is one of the major ingredients in fostering stronger relationships. I did not have a good relationship with my father. I was lost as a teenager and did not recognize the things that my father did for me. I guess we all go through this stage at some point in our lives. However, when I realized it, I came to know that I should be grateful for everything that my father has done for me, from financial support to being there for me emotionally.

I felt a sense of gratitude towards him and when I expressed it, our relationship grew stronger. This eventually added a positive boost to my mental well being. This is why gratitude plays a pivotal role in our mental well being. How often do you feel grateful for the things that you own and have currently? Do not forget to smile today. Take care of yourself both physically and mentally.

Thanks for your making it to the last. I have taken the pictures with my iphone XR in Islamabad yesterday.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now