Now that's a mango tree!

I never understood why my dad was hesitant to grow a mango tree in his yard here in Puerto Rico. I was even germinating a seed to plant it in the back. Yet today i looked over at the neighbors yard, and the realization came to me.

That's their mango tree. I never realized what kind of tree it was. That's when i understood why. It would take over the entire yard. Not to mention the maintenance it would require.

The neighbors have lived there since my dad's childhood. They have years of living with their tree. I started noticing the trash cans underneath the tree, and I gained an appreciation for what having such a tree on the property required.

I never fully appreciated the work that had to go into keeping their yard the way it is.

That tree takes up at least thirty percent of their yard, and thet really have maintained it nicely. It's beautiful, and I've gained a new respect for them and their tree.

Update: All the pictures used in this blog are mine, and were taken using my one plus 7 pro. :)

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center