My Travel Experience to Tagaytay: A Test of Faith in God (Part 1)

Nothing beats the power of passionate prayer. This cliché has added to my learning-self-bank after I have travelled to the place I have never specifically asked. You might wonder why? It is because I only fervently ask for a travel outside the house with the whole family so that we can fully bond with each other away from the responsibilities at home, but it is very difficult because the time between siblings differ from us with parents. Yet, God made a way and we had blissfully experienced Tagaytay within four days a year ago.

final tagaytay pic.png

The story went like this…

January 2023 was the month when my older brother officially announced their wedding in November 2023. He made it in advance so that we can book a ticket in advance as well. “The more advanced, the more time they can look for the promo with the lower fare”, that was how my elder brother told us and luckily, we had availed the lowest promo. We paid 2960 pesos only per head for regular customers and my parents who are both senior citizens already were discounted. That was to and fro Manila fare already.
Fast forward, the day of the flight, November 16 came. It was indeed a roller coaster ride. The flight hour was 8:00 o’clock in the morning and the boarding time needed to be two hour before the flight time. Due to procrastination, we almost fail to get to the boarding time. That was because we met unexpected challenges we thought won’t happen. The motorcycle wheel that would supposedly carry us and our baggage that we rode on which was my brother’s got literally nailed in the middle of the place where no house can we asked help with.

That was around 3 o’clock in the morning and we really walked through the road where it was safe to stay and wait. When we were dropped by our brother-in-law, we asked him to return by the time he finished taking his children and wife to the bus station. My elder brother entrusted his motorcycle to the person who knew us and went back home to borrow my motorcycle and carry the other baggage. Such a challenging dawn to think but God’s grace had prevailed after all.

Eight minutes later, we had arrived at the bus station and luckily the Ceres Inspector decided to let the bus depart right away upon hearing our favor. They won’t run out of profit though because we occupied eight seats. Hmmm. Then, we alighted in Pacific Mall. We met another challenge because only one taxi was available. We rode first with my father and the luggage. We reached the airport but only in the fifteenth minute did my pals arrive. And the land ride stopped there. We thanked God for the safety.

When we were in the airport, we hurriedly went to the reception area and luckily, we were twenty minutes early. The staff told us to wait until our flight’s turn was entertained. I felt so elated that standing for minutes never got my legs weighted.

370261613_890602006046572_8320732011030295925_n.jpg

After minutes of waiting, we were finally entertained, and our baggage exceed the minimum weight of 20kg. So, my brother decided to pay the excess. It only took a while after we checked in. Then, we were told to go to the boarding area and fall in line until our personal belongings were checked. I had an embarrassing secret to tell you while I was in the checked area. After I put all my belongings there, I passed through the middle of the official pathways. I thought it was just okay because the distance was almost the same with latter and I was told by the checker to go back to the official path. Looks awkward, right. Hmmm.

400143216_219235247860604_4430692997499224142_n.jpg

Few minutes from checking my baggage, we waited for my sibling’s family, and we went straight to the Airport’s Flight Board. We could not see our flight time yet, so we decided to eat in an eating station to take our early breakfast. We did not spend a lot there because my mother is always a girl scout. She already cooked fried chicken the night before. So, we had no problem with our viand anymore.

“Thanks, God, for the gift of a thoughtful mother”, I realized.

370257347_24172108519099609_8846669416230863081_n.jpg

Later on, our flight number could be seen on the flight board, and we waited few minutes already before our tickets and ID’s would be checked so that we could finally get into the airplane.

Stepping into the plane’s wing gave me a mixed emotion knowing that I could finally fly along the clouds but at the same time, the low-pressure was about to come on that day. Abruptly erasing the second thoughts, I just focused on my faith that God allowed me to happen on that day. I happily looked for my seat number and so with my parents and siblings. Great to know that we were just in adjoining seats so that I could easily see and touch them whenever I would be worried.

Exchanging conversations happened in between asking my parents and brother how their previous airplane experience was been. They told me that it was terrifying especially if there is turbulence, and their landing experience was terrible. Those conversations tickled my fear when suddenly the airplane engine started up. Whoosh! Had a great sigh! In silence, I just asked for safety and that my first flight experience would be enjoyable and repeatable.

Everybody was setting up on their belts and paid attention to the crews’ instructions and demonstrations on what to do during emergency and how to use the safety items. Damn! My heart started to skip a beat in two side views of life. But I composed myself not to focus on the negative one so that I could enjoy every minute with the clouds passing by.

Thereby, the plane started to go to the runway, and I could not contain the butterflies in my stomach. It was about five minutes when the plane had headed to the take-off area and the thrills in my mind have already piled up. Astonishing to remember, but I felt at ease in mind and heart even though I had slightly felt motion sickness as the plane continued to reach the clouds.
Within ten minutes of flying, everything was very smooth, I enjoyed the clouds near the window and had made a bird’s eye view of the island and blue seas along our way. I had such an aesthetic experience in minutes. Then, in half an hour, the flight attendant had conducted games, but we failed to hear them carefully and participate since I was more focused on my side views.

Later, in-flight food service arrived. My father got chilled, so I ordered him coffee. I did not buy it for myself and mother because the cost was not that friendly if I ordered many. Hmmmm. So, the flight went on cozy until I felt that the plane’s direction is not stationary. I could feel the shake and I could hear the announcement that there was turbulence at that moment. I was a bit shocked but savored the chill in mind. This turbulence will just pass in the name of the Most High! I felt hopeful in between and continuously pray.

In the 50th minute, which was supposedly our landing time was not pushed through. This time, for me, was like more than turbulence I had encountered minutes before. I felt dizzy. I felt like vomiting. I wondered what was happening until my brother told us that the landing area was not yet clear due to busy routes. So, the plane had to wait and circle the city. Affected by turbulence, the circling of plane affected the unoriented and unused-to-the-situation passengers.

Around five minutes later, the plane finally landed in Ninoy Aquino International Airport. The abundant grace of safety had been showered. I had the chance to finally see Manila. Hail to the Almighty!

448606643_792341819354830_8724380868484414163_n.jpg

That would be all for today. And I would be glad if you are going to share your first flight experience, too.

See you in my Part 2.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center