Crafts with friends [ENG/SPA]

English

In my short life I have met many people who say the following, "In this life there are no friends". That is a sad phrase in itself and I honestly don't think it is true. We may not have many people we can consider friends, but there are.

Precisely, today I will tell you a little bit about a person I consider my friend, a neighbor with whom I usually get together to make crafts. I hope you enjoy this short story.

Español

En mi corta vida he conocido a muchas personas que dicen lo siguiente, "En esta vida no hay amigos". Es una frase triste en sí misma y honestamente no creo que sea verdad. Quizás no tengamos muchas personas a las que podamos considerar como amigos, pero sí los hay.

Precisamente, hoy les contaré un poco sobre una persona a la que considero mi amiga, una vecina con la que suelo reunirme a hacer manualidades. Espero disfruten de esta breve historia.


5a.jpg


I live alone in my house, so most of the day I don't have anyone around to share anecdotes with at breakfast, tell stories at lunch or just talk about how the day was at dinner; however, from time to time I go to visit my grandmother's house or, as I mentioned, to visit this neighbor.

She lives alone with her granddaughter, most of her children are out of the country so from time to time she invites me to her house to eat or to make crafts, as she is very good at making them and I love crafts too.

To make a long story short, she invited me to make some crafts for a little party she was throwing for her granddaughter, to make up for the good grades she got in her violin classes.

Vivo solo en mi casa, así que la mayor parte del día no tengo a nadie cerca con quien compartir anécdotas durante el desayuno, contar historias en el almuerzo o simplemente hablar de cómo estuvo el día durante la cena; si embargo, de vez en cuando voy de visita a casa de mi abuela o, como ya les mencioné, a visitar a esta vecina.

Ella vive sola con su nieta, la mayoría de sus hijos se fueron del país, así que de vez en cuando me invita a su casa a comer o a hacer manualidades, pues es muy buena haciendolas y, precisamente, a mi también me encantan las manualidades.

Para hacer la historia corta, me invitó a hacer unas manualidades para una fiestecilla que le haría a su nieta, para compensar las buenas notas que obtuvo en sus clases de violin.


1a.jpg1b.jpg

I would make some cardboard sheets to glue to some balloons. I had never made these leaves before, so I thought it would be interesting to document the process, in case I have to make them in the future.

As you can see in the pictures, you have to cut out the patterns of the leaf shape and then paint them. She used cold paint, a type of paint she uses a lot.

Haría unas hojas de cartón para pegarlas a unos globos. Yo nunca había hecho estas hojas, así que me pareció interesante documentar el proceso, por si me toca hacerlas en un futuro.

Como pueden ver en las fotografías, se debe cortar los patrones de la forma de la hoja para luego pintarlas. Ella usó pintura al frio, un tipo de pintura que usa bastante.


2a.jpg2b.jpg2c.jpg

The nice thing about working with a person who has literally years of experience working with crafts is that you learn techniques that you don't know.

In the three pictures above you can see that she used a sponge to paint the leaves. I had never seen how they painted in that way and it was really nice to learn from an expert.

Lo bueno de trabajar con una persona que tiene literalmente años trabajando las manualidades, es que se aprenden técnicas que desconoces.

En las tres fotografías de arriba pueden ver que usó una esponja para pintar las hojas. Nunca había visto cómo pintaban de esa manera y la verdad fue muy bonito aprender de la mano de una experta.


3a.jpg3b.jpg

Here is a picture of how the leaves turned out. I must confess that I didn't make any, I was just taking pictures, passing around materials, cutting the cardboard patterns and putting them out to dry. What do you say? How did these leaves turn out for my dear neighbor?

Aquí hay una fotografía de cómo quedaron las hojas. Debo confesar que yo no hice ninguna, solo estaba tomando fotos, pasando materiales, cortando los patrones de cartón y poniéndolas al sol a secar. ¿Ustedes qué me dicen? ¿Cómo les quedaron estas hojas a mi estimada vecina?


4.jpg


We also made some beautiful foami pineapples, in these I did collaborate since I only had to draw the patterns and cut them.

También hicimos unas bonitas piñas de foami, en estas sí colaboré ya que solo fue dibujar los patrones y cortar.


5b.jpg


Evidently, she was not only there doing handicrafts, she was also sharing with the neighbor, an elderly man who visits her every day and her granddaughter, who is very funny and with many witticisms. So the snacks were not lacking and the coffee much less.

Evidentemente, no solo estaba allí haciendo manualidades, también estaba compartiendo con la vecina, un señor mayor que la visita a diario y con su nieta, que es muy cómica y con muchas ocurrencias. Así que los bocadillos no faltaron y el café mucho menos.


6.jpg


She also told many of her anecdotes visiting places where artists exhibited their work. She showed me this pair of works that you can see below.

Ella también contó muchas de sus anécdotas visitando lugares en donde los artistas exhibían sus trabajos. Me mostró este par de obras que pueden ver a continuación.


7.jpg


He told me that a man made them with a material that I had not seen in paintings, a wall-smoothing mixture. With this mixture he made the relief that can be seen in the paintings and on this he made the drawings. Simply works of art that are more enjoyable in person.

On the other hand, one of the things I like the most about visiting this friend, is that she has animals in her house; a dog, a cat and roosters and hens.

I love animals, so I really enjoy the company of these innocent little creatures that only return love to those who treat them well.

Me contó que las hizo un señor con un material que no había visto en pinturas, una mezcla para frisar paredes. Con esta mezcla hizo el relieve que se ve en los cuadros y sobre este hizo los dibujos. Simplemente unas obras de arte que en persona se disfrutan más.

Por otra parte, una de las cosas que más me gusta de visitar a esta amiga, es que tiene animales en su casa; una perra, un gato y gallos y gallinas.

A mi me encantan los animales, así que disfruto mucho la compañía de estas pequeñas e inocentes criaturas, que solo devuelven amor a quienes las tratan bien.


8a.jpg8b.jpg

Family is important, but in the absence of a close family, friends are good and we must value them, because there are not many.

La familia es importante, pero a falta de una familia cerca, buenos son los amigos y hay que valorarlos, pues no hay muchos.


Well fellows, this has been all for now, I sincerely hope you liked my publication or, at least, that you found it entertaining. I invite you to leave your opinions below in the comments, as always I will be happy to read them. With nothing more to add, I'll say goodbye then...

See you next time!

Bien compañeros, esto ha sido todo por ahora, de corazón espero que mi publicación les haya gustado o, cuando menos, les haya parecido entretenida. Los invito a dejar sus opiniones abajo en los comentarios, como siempre estaré encantado de leerlos. Sin más que agregar, me despido entonces...

¡Hasta la próxima!




Traducido con DeepL

Últimos tres post/Last three posts:
Rising Star Update + Giveaway #10: Win 2K Starbits + 2 Cards
My logo proposal: BROCA, LARYNX, SPK
Meat and Cheese Pizza

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
14 Comments
Ecency