Boult Astra Wirless Headset review - A technology of convenience or inconvenience ?

Hello there tech enthusiasts 🤖!

It's been a while since I bought something for myself so I got my first wirless headset last week. You see I'm always late for the party when it comes to latest tech whether it's a laptop, smartphone, headphones etc because of fund issues 😆. Sometimes I don't buy stuff on purpose because the utility they give isn't proportional to the money that we spend. That is what I want to talk about here incase someone is thinking about buying a wirless headset.

Do you guys remember that I play an online game called Dead by Daylight? I made a blog about it a while ago. Since it's horror, audio have a significant importance in this game but I have been playing this game on the speakers so the experience is not that great compared to a headset. Now I do have a wired headset which costs around 7$ and it's pretty much capable of handling anything. The problem here is comfort. I die early in every match when I use the wired headset because it affects the mobility of my hands. Ever since then I have been planning to buy a wirless headset and it hasn't been quite joyful like I thought it would be.


Boult Astra Wirless Headset

1000040408.jpg

Price: 17.8$

Bought from Flipkart (Amazon also shows the same price)


What's inside?

1000040409.jpg

A warranty card, headset, charging case, some buds and a usb type c cable.

Lookwise the product is incredible. The company designed it to look like the back side of a sports car and just like a car's headlight the case has yellow LEDs which lights up when you open the case and charge the case. Gotta hand it to the design team because I really like it. It looks so cool in my opinion.


Specifications

1000040396.jpg

source


Sound Quality 🗿

For 3x the price compared to my wired one it does have better clarity and bass. Although it does feel like there is some audio leakage. Nothing major though.


Connectivity 🗿

That blink and pair advertisement is accurate. It's that fast!

Also has the ability to turn on and use only a single piece for calls etc.


Latency 🗿

There is a reason why Bluetooth headphones are called tecnology of convenience because no one wants to deal with wires, right? That's true however latency is always an issue even with premium headsets like Apple airpods. As you can see on the picture this one comes with 45ms latency only. Other brands at this price range is selling ones with 65ms so I bought this one.

I checked it while playing dead by daylight and I was quite surprised to see that it's doing really well. This one has combat mode so after enabling that latency is almost ignorable. Quite satisfied with it under this price.


Battery backup 🤡

Yes, that 48hrs backup advertisement is straight up bullshit but I expected this thing to give at least 8hrs but nope. It's barely giving 6 hrs of backup after a full charge. The company is using false advertisement when it comes to battery backup. You can see below 👇.

1000040412.jpg


Battery charge mismatch 🌚

One of the annoying issues with this wireless headset was the difference in battery drain between the two ear piece. One drains significantly faster than the other.

For eg I was on call the other day and one of them died while the other was at 60%. That's a huge difference. I always charge them together until I see 100% when connected to my phone. 10-20% difference is considered normal but this is just too damn high for a brand new headset so I replaced it and got a new product today so currently I'm testing it for a few days. I can still see a difference of 20% already so I'm just gonna test it more for a few days to see if this product is good or not. Otherwise I'm thinking about getting a refund this time. I have 7 days to test it and I'm going to make good use of it. You won't hear about this battery charge mismatch thing online unless you manually search for it because the issue is not that wide spread and most people have a tendency to put the headset back in the case after use to charge again so they never know if one is draining more than the other unless they use it long term. By that time the seller won't accept any replacements or refunds and the last option is to go to a warranty center and why would you want that when they send you a faulty product.


Should you buy it 🤔?

Sure, if you get a good deal otherwise I'd suggest a bit more pricey ones like OnePlus buds. They show charge of case and each ear piece individually. Always remember this, the only headphones that offer zero latency is wired headphones haha.


All images are owned by me otherwise credited


Thank you so much Hive for making this purchase possible and thank you for your time and I really love to hear your opinions about wirless headphones 😊👋!

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center