A kookaburra visit

While I was working in the shed this morning I could hear some racket from the local noisy minors. Which is quite normal as they are very territoriall. So I thought it might have been a crow or Magpie that flew into my yard.

But then I heard the very distinct sound of a bird cooing then burst out laughing.

It was a kookaburra!!

It was very loud so I went out to see where the kookaburra was.

He was just sitting on the fence with this noisy minor all up in his grill.

1000013224.jpg

The noisy minors are not afraid of any bird no matter there size.

But it sucks that they chase away all the cool birds that come into my back yard.

I managed to scare the noisy minor away. Then it was just me and the kookaburra looking at each other for about a minute before he decided to fly away.

1000013222.jpg

Lucky I was able to get these quick snaps on my phone.

1000013223.jpg

The kookaburra is definitely one of my favourite birds. There used to be lots of kookaburra around before the houses around me all cut their big trees down😥 so we don't wake up to the sound of the kookaburra in the mornings any more.

If you have never heard a know kookaburra laugh here is a video I found on YouTube of one.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
7 Comments