My experience with setting up a hummingbird feeder

I set up this feeder and within one hour it was being visited by many little hummingbirds. And seems with every day it gets more attention and more of these little birds notice. This is my first time owning a feeder so its all new to me, but its been quite enjoyable watching them out the window come visit the feeder and get a little drink.

Though these little birds are not very good at sharing most of the time. Its usually just one bird at a time at the feeder, and when another approaches they chase each other.

The coloring of these birds are quite impressive. An emerald green is the primary color I see. But other times they have reds in there under their chin. I think those are the males.

Landing on the perch they sit there for a minute watching around them and then take little drinks, pausing to make sure its safe around them. I guess many things prey on these little birds so they are constantly watching around them.. or maybe they are looking for rival hummingbirds..lol

They move so fast, but taking pictures helps me see them better.

Such tiny little things, amazing they have so much energy to fight each other.

Wasps come around to feed on the sugar water as well. Sometimes the insect and birds have disagreements it seems.

When the wasp is around sometimes the birds wont feed and stay away.

They wait for the wasp to leave, but for other hummingbirds they just go for it insect be damned.

Other birds hang out near by, but not for the sugar water. But waiting for dragonflies to travel past them.. caught one in the frame above flying by.

Seems I will need to refill these feeders once or twice a week.

Not a big deal, just takes a few minutes.

I take 1 ¾ cups of water and heating it up while mixing sugar inside. Once cooled I put it in the feeder.

Hehe you can see their little feet as they are about to land.

Glad it was really bright outside so I can get some high speed pictures. Otherwise they are quite blurry.

I wonder if other kinds will visit the feeders, as far as I know only one kind is visiting them now.

Curious to see over the summer and autumn if their behavior changes and different species come around.

For now its great just seeing one kind, but looking forward to seeing more possibly.

Seeing them flare out their tail feathers is cool, they have some interesting markings.

I think it noticed the wasp hanging out on the feeder.

Later in the day is what I call “hummingbird rush hour” as when the sun starts to set they all come around to feed to get one more drink before bed. This causes lots of fighting, as they all want to feed by themselves.

They can be quite aggressive, making agry hummingbird sounds and you can hear them hitting each other in the air.

Seems the fighting never ends with these little birds...lol Maybe I need a second feeder so they do not fight for one as much. Though occasionally I do see two sharing the feeder, I am guessing these are mating pairs. As usually its one brightly colored one and one more bare.. Making me think that’s a male and female.

Its been fun having this feeder for a few days now, but we shall see long term what else comes to visit it. Hopefully more kinds of hummingbirds.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center