Feathered Friday - Yellow Rump and Other Sightings

Here are this week's sightings for #featheredfriday

P1012243-Enhanced-NR copy.jpg
I thought this yellow rumped warbler was just a sparrow in the thickets at first. Thankfully I decided to look through the zoom lens a bit closer and realized it was a warbler.

P1012240 copy.jpg
I'm surprised I was able to get the camera focused through all the weeds. Fortunately the warbler stayed still long enough for me to finagle the camera focus.

P1012199 copy.jpg
I had been just taking photos of cactus in a rock garden.

P1012206 copy.jpg
Thankfully the rock garden had lots of nature and I was focused on this little chipmunk before spotting the yellow rumped warbler.

P5241058 copy.jpg
There was also a somewhat sickly looking sparrow in the rock garden. I wonder if it is just molting or if it has mites of some sort causing its feathers to be spotty.

P5241023 copy.jpg
Now its time to visit the pond nearby. A couple of swans are always at this lake.

P1012180 copy.jpg
Then off in the distance I noticed a pie billed grebe.

P1012185-Enhanced-NR copy.jpg
Fortunately this one was tame and didn't dive under and swim to the other side of the lake.

P1012186-Enhanced-NR copy.jpg
I was able to get as close to the edge of the water for a better shot. I could tell it was a bit leery of me approaching but it still didn't swim away.

P8062178-Enhanced-NR copy.jpg
Now the sun is setting and all I could get was a dove silhouette.

That's all for now, thanks for looking :-)

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center