Crane Dance

Here are a couple of sandhill cranes doing a dance.

P1012296 copy.jpg
I heard a loud croaking noise near a farm and decided to check out the field. These two were doing their courtship dance.

P1012295 copy.jpg
When I first heard about this dance with the cranes I figured only the male would dance.

P1012288 copy.jpg
But it appears both of them took part in the dance.

P1012290 copy.jpg
They croaked loudly too while dancing. It must be tough to be this gawky while trying to dance.

P1012294 copy.jpg
My camera's focus was having trouble trying to get a clear shot while dancing so instead it decided to focus on the ground.

P1012297 copy.jpg
I moved around to try and get them both in the center focus, but now I have one with its head hidden.

P1012302 copy.jpg
Now after their dancing it is time to start grazing for small insects and rodents to eat.

P1012303 copy.jpg
They seem to take turns pecking the ground, as one pecks the ground the other looks up.

P1012312 copy.jpg
I stuck around a bit longer but they didn't do anymore dancing. Now they are just patrolling the field for food.

That's all for now, thanks for looking :-)

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center