Catching fast Swallows on camera.

Waiting at the doctor's place I saw the swallows flying high up.
141.jpg

It was late afternoon and I call this my three light photo. A street lamp next to the mountain, a halo around the sun and the sun itself.

A Happy Friday to all and this is why I like waiting, as I don't wait like normal people. To sit cloistered and surrounded by sick people in a waiting room is not my kind of fun, so Marian goes in to register my arrival and I wait outside. Then she sits in an isolated place with her crossword book and comes to call me when it's my turn to see the doctor.
Only one time that she couldn't find me, as I followed the call of a young falcon :)
So come and see the fast swallows.

But first I will show you the light conditions in this photo below.
It seemed that the cloud snake was swallowing the sun.
064.JPG

My target was the sun to get the swallows flying in it's light and so the 3 photos below are near misses as they flew past the sun.
023.JPG

These are Greater Striped Swallows (Cecropis cucullata) and they are speed merchants.
026.JPG

018.JPG

Bang! I got him right in the ball of the sun.
032.JPG

Not too easy to get them in the sun as one second too late on the click and they flew past the sun.
043.JPG

033.JPG

I think that these below were European Starlings.
036.JPG

A Bonus! This Pied Crow showed me how easy it is to get a bird crossing the sun.
143.JPG

So yes, I was thankful that I got the swallows a few times and I hope that you liked the photos.

And That's All Friends.

Photos by Zac Smith-All Rights Reserved.

Camera: Canon Powershot SX70HS Bridge camera.

Thank you kindly for supporting a post on behalf of @papilloncharity

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center